- engravable -

Glossy Stain

The original award-winning formula in saturated color.

Glossy Stain

Alternate Views

- engravable -

Glossy Stain

Glossy Stain is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 48.
  • y_2018, m_12, d_15, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_1020YSL, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_yvessaintlaurent
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 7ms
  • reviews, product

The original award-winning formula in saturated color.

$37.00

Personalize this product with a message or monogram.
YSL BEAUTY REWARDS CLUB Earn 370 PTS
YSL BEAUTY REWARDS CLUB Join the club and get the rewards you deserve. $1 SPENT = 10 POINTS EARNED. JOIN NOW

$37.00

-
+
YSL BEAUTY REWARDS CLUB Earn 370 PTS
YSL BEAUTY REWARDS CLUB Join the club and get the rewards you deserve. $1 SPENT = 10 POINTS EARNED. JOIN NOW
Keywords

long wear stain gloss shine and texture

Benefits

Lightweight, this glossy lip stain melts onto lips for long-lasting glossy color.

Type

Glossy Lip Stain

What it is

A revolutionary lip product that combines the texture and shine of a gloss with the long wear of a stain.

What it does

Coat your lips with this lip color that offers a lightweight texture, which immediately melts onto lips. Glossy Stain delivers intense glossy color for an extremely long-lasting shine.

Octyldodecanol, Butyloctyl Salicylate, Stearyl/Ppg-3 Myristyl Ether Dimer Dilinoleate, Neopentyl Glycol Diheptanoate, Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Polyethylene, Cera Microcristallina (Microcrystalline Wax), Polybutene, Propylene Glycol Dibenzoate, Hydrogenated Coco-Glycerides, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Titanium Dioxide, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Parfum (Fragrance), Caprylyl Glycol, Aqua (Water), Ammonium Glycyrrhizate, Mannitol , Polyurethane-15, Acacia Senegal Gum, Glyceryl Stearate, Lecithin, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Butylene Glycol, Rosemary (Rosmarinus Officinalis) Extract , Yeast (Faex) Extract , Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Root Extract, Retinyl Palmitate, Citric Acid [+/- May Contain: Ci 77019 (Mica), Ci 77491 (Iron Oxide), Ci 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), Ci 15850 (Red 7), Ci 15850 (Red 6), Ci 45410 (Red 28 Lake), Ci 77492 (Iron Oxide), Silica, Ci 19140 (Yellow 5 Lake), Ci 42090 (Blue 1 Lake), Ci 17200 (Red 33 Lake), Ci 75470 (Carmine), Ci 12085 (Red 36), Ci 77499 (Iron Oxide), Ci 15985 (Yellow 6 Lake), Ci 77742 (Manganese Violet), Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Ci 73360 (Red 30), Synthetic Fluorphlogopite.

This can be applied in limitless ways, whether you’re after a playful pop of color, or intense drama and a statement look. Use one color on the cheeks, and the other shade on the lips, to bring contrast yet keep your look within one color family. Or on the cheeks, use both shades, with the lighter shade placed above the apple of the cheeks and the darker one on the apple itself, then blend with a brush or with fingers to achieve a subtle gradation and blush effect. On the lips, swipe one color and blend out for a pretty stain of color, or be daring, and create a duo-toned lip.

Ratings & Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best best best Lipgloss ever!! I've been a loyal fan of YSL make up and this line is amazing!! I have many shades in many lines and I never get tired of getting them more and more!!!
Date published: 2018-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Corail Aquatique This color compliments my skintone very well (beige w/ yellow undertones). As a stain, the staying power isn't quite there for me.
Date published: 2018-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pop of color Not too much color but just the right pop of color. Goes on naturally and stays on even through dinner! Love these stains.
Date published: 2018-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favourite Ever NO. 12 looks perfect..................................
Date published: 2018-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GOOD! I like this color! It brights my day! I recommend this color to my friends.
Date published: 2018-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My best lip color ever !! This is my third purchase and I can’t go out without this Thank you !!! Finally I found what is good color on me :)
Date published: 2018-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best item in my whole life! color, texture, stay - all 3 are perfect! i already bought this item more than 10 times
Date published: 2018-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good! This is really pretty Orange color Red + Orange :)
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite! Since I bought this lipgloss, I have a huge fan of ysl lipsticks. It is not sticky but lightweight, hydrated and looks natural.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great smell and long lasting wear The colors are always so vibrant and my lips feel moisturized. The color stays on for a long time too! Love this purchase!
Date published: 2018-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like this color Very cute; suits for daily makeup; it hydrates my lips, too.
Date published: 2018-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Superior lip product by far This remains my favorite lip product by far and for years. I could do a commercial for it! The magic is that it does not bleed NOR does it dry my lips out - that combo is rare. Previously I had to use lip pencil, lip barrier liner, lipstick and gloss. I justify the absurd price point because now its 1 product that does it all. The reason for 4 stars: 1) the range of colors - nude mauve palette choices are almost non-existent. 2) The shade name and # wears off immediately. The time spent trying to match up what you want to replenish is a total un necessary waste of time. If I would have known, I would have documented each color as I purchased it. Now I literally have 11 tubes with no names. The YSL reps struggle helping you match it up. Not sure if this is because of discontinued colors or out of stocks... no one knows including them.
Date published: 2018-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite lip gloss Very creamy with some good staying power. I can wear matte lippies, my lips are constantly dry NMW I try, but this is the best lip gloss that stays put without being overly drying. I just wish it had some nude colors. Number 7 is my everyday color though.
Date published: 2018-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great Like it and attractive...looks natural and not day
Date published: 2017-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good color for me! This color is very good for me. Like it very much!
Date published: 2017-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice color i like it i like it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111111111111
Date published: 2017-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from looks really good A really good online shopping
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful red Very moist! And yet, great staying power I've tried many different products and that has good staying power tends to dry my lips!! And if it's moisturizing, the color doesn't stay or shows.... Now I found a perfect one! Thank you YSL!
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I bought this recently and it's worth every penny. It's perfect for everyday, pretty long lasting and last a good amount of time on the lips.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great texutre I love the way this product feels, it doesn't get dry and cakey and still has reasonably good staying power. I did purchase online though, so I didn't see the true color until it arrived. The Rouge pur couture does not look quite as dark on my lips as I was hoping, but I still like the product
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not exactly what I expected The sample I received was thicker and remained on for a long time! The actual product is very thin and it's difficult to put on with the brush provided!
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Vinyl Cream Lip Stain I have been purchasing lip stains from YSL for several years. I love the way they stay on and it is not necessary to keep reapplying. What I don't like is the way YSL keeps discontinuing the older shades. Just when I think I have found one to replace the first one I ever bought (it was discontinued) the new color purchase is also discontinued. I decided to try the Vinyl Cream Lip Stain but when I received it the color wasn't anything like what showed on my computer screen. I was expecting a deep violet fuchsia color and instead it is an orange bright red. I returned it and the lip pencil. I will continue to look for another comparable color somewhere else.
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Check color carefully - This is a wonderful product that I highly recommend, with just one reservation. I ordered off the site, after carefully comparing colors. I can only wear warm-to-neutral colors, and decided that #29 (Rose Fourreau) was perfect for me. Everything about it, including the color featured box when it arrived, suggested a neutral rose, However, it turned out to be genuinely cold in reality., I gave it to my 24-year-old daughter, whom wears cold colors, and she is delighted with it - in fact, she ordered another color, and takes one of the two everywhere. The nearest YSL counter is quite a distance from me, but I won't buy another until I see it in person.
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible product I received this as a gift, and its horrible. I must question why any company would choose to put a perfume in a lip colour, it makes the product smell and taste horrible!! It also means it has an weird oily finish that provides no coverage.
Date published: 2015-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doesn't settle into lines!!! If you're looking for a lip gloss with fabulous colors and that doesn't travel and settle into lip lines, this is the one to buy. I've been searching for such a gloss for years. This really is an amazing product. I've purchased 4 different colors and each one is beautiful.
Date published: 2013-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One word: Exceptional Can I just say this product is the most amazing lip product that will probably ever come into existence! I want every color, no joke! Its creamy and stays for hours during drinking/eating. It is also highly pigmented and feels like luxury on your lips when you rub them together..
Date published: 2013-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! It actually lasts for hours and is not drying! This product is wonderful and I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2013-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! all other products i have tried are promised disasters compared to this. once you try it on no other stain will do. i found most other "bite" types of any sort wear off quickly. if not the case then; the stain looks like a cheap apply of RIT dye, normally not looking anything like a beautiful woman's lips. more like something for grade school girls. no offense just some brands aren't uniform on my lips. any color transitions in my natural lip color show through like age spots. ysl gloss hides my imperfections and doesn't stick in crevices. seems to 'float' on top of my lips. too awesome.
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! Went to Sephora and I bought #15 (Rose Vinyl) and # 13 (Rose Tempura) and I LOVE them!! I ordered #18 (Rose Pastelle) to wear with the Holiday Arctic collection...since the golden gloss in #56 (Polar Pink) is not available. The Rose Tempura is a deep pink/red and looks gorgeous! Kind of like the dark pink/red that the T-Mobile girl wears in the commercials. The Rose Vinyl is a beautiful medium pink---perfect for work. YSL is the bomb! Gorgeous brights for the lips--- very youthful looking. I'm tired of all the nude boring lip colors that make you look washed out. I used to use nothing but YSL a very long time ago but when they started trying to compete with the other major brands in the "nude" coloring phase, they lost my attention. The colors seemed off and not right for some reason. They've come back! Back to their original bright, beautiful colors. Thank you YSL!
Date published: 2012-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Treat yourself....you will be so happy you did There is nothing like this on the market! Long wearing and hydrating - simply divine - Excited to add more to collection. Got #10 & #17 Perfect Pink and Perfect Red
Date published: 2012-11-20
  • y_2018, m_12, d_15, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_1020YSL, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_yvessaintlaurent
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 9ms
  • reviews, product

Questions & Answers

Can I use lip stain over a lip pencil?...

Can I use lip stain over a lip pencil?
Asked by: First NameL
I suppose that you can,but I would think that applying the stain first would work better. Personally I would use either stain lined with lip pencil or stain followed by lipstick for longer wear.
Answered by: RochelleB
Date published: 2016-06-30

Can anyone confirm what the ingredients are? I have heard this product is non-toxic but I don't see ...

Can anyone confirm what the ingredients are? I have heard this product is non-toxic but I don't see anything on the web site that validates this. Thank you!
Asked by: SaraT
Sara, You would not be sorry if you purchased it!
Answered by: Anonymous
Date published: 2016-06-30

Am I the only one allergic to this wonderful glossy stain. I am fair, age 61 and really like the r...

Am I the only one allergic to this wonderful glossy stain. I am fair, age 61 and really like the results of applying this over lipstick. When I applied it alone, my lips would swell after a couple of days. When applying over lipstick I thought I had it made, but after applying a few days in a row two-three times a day, my lips swelled. A lump on one side of my lip has hung around for four days without using the stain. I have seen no reference but I can't be the only one ?
Asked by: Anonymous
I haven't had a problem with this stain. I also am alergic to certain lip stains and lipsticks Good Luck hope this helped.
Answered by: CherylK
Date published: 2016-06-30

I'm looking for a red lipstick and these glossy stains look great, any problem with them getting on ...

I'm looking for a red lipstick and these glossy stains look great, any problem with them getting on your teeth?
Asked by: Anonymous
I have always had a problem with lipsticks getting on my teeth , it could be the way I speak but this shiny stain has never travelled that route ... I am so happy also it does not dry out my lips
Answered by: violaL
Date published: 2016-06-30

Can anyone describe the color of #17?...

Can anyone describe the color of #17?
Asked by: BettyS
It has a violet hue to it. My favorite Rouge Pur Courture is #11 and it goes with most colors.
Answered by: Anonymous
Date published: 2016-06-30

Does this product contain lead?...

Does this product contain lead?
Asked by: Anonymous
It does contain iron oxide which is a compound of lead. I hope this helps.
Answered by: sheilaj
Date published: 2016-06-30

I am 59 and want a long wearing lipstick. I have tried stains but they are very drying and after we...

I am 59 and want a long wearing lipstick. I have tried stains but they are very drying and after wearing a few days my lips start to peel. I have Silver colored hair and a medium complexion. Would you recommend this lip stain and if so what color?
Asked by: Anonymous
Yes, it's fantastic. It's the best stain... hands down. It's less drying than others and stays on for much longer than you'd expect. I wear #29 as a natural pinky shade for every day.
Answered by: (unknown)(
Date published: 2016-06-30

my only question before purchasing is; Does the actual "Gloss" last a long time, as well as the stai...

my only question before purchasing is; Does the actual "Gloss" last a long time, as well as the stain, or does the shine disappear quickly? Thank You!
Asked by: Mary-EllenH
A bit of shine does, yes! I was surprised to still see some shine several hours later (even after drinking a latte)
Answered by: (unknown)(
Date published: 2016-06-30

I'm interested in #18... Is it a true light pink, blue undertones???? Thank you!...

I'm interested in #18... Is it a true light pink, blue undertones???? Thank you!
Asked by: CindyD
Not at all!! It is a deep wine to berry stain.
Answered by: SandraH
Date published: 2016-06-30

What department stores carry the YSL Gloss lipsticks?...

What department stores carry the YSL Gloss lipsticks?
Asked by: ADRIANAM
i get mine in richmond too sometimes at saks. the saks girls do the best job of showcasing the product properly. ysl at watergate in dc closed. saks has all the colors and the store is clean, fresh, and the lighting for trying on makeup is fantastic. if there is a sephora close to you good selection but have very poor lighting in my opinion and messy testers, easier to use ysl site at that point. returned to sephora because colors looked off in daylight. again strictly my opinion. nordstrom is good place too i agree with athicha.
Answered by: victoriah
Date published: 2016-06-30

Hi, I bought this lipstick recently and the code is 11. If i go to a meeting and speak for 2 hours, ...

Hi, I bought this lipstick recently and the code is 11. If i go to a meeting and speak for 2 hours, this lipstick is all gone. Please tell me how I can make this lipstick last for most of the day?
Asked by: LogieG
Hi Logie, I actually love this product. I use a lipliner, put concealer on my lips and then apply the Vernis. A coat of clear gloss might help as well.
Answered by: Anonymous
Date published: 2016-06-30

does this product last on the lips?...

does this product last on the lips?
Asked by: Anonymous
yes, the gloss fades, but the stain remains.
Answered by: Andrea JL
Date published: 2016-06-30

how does violet edition look on?...

how does violet edition look on?
Asked by: Anonymous
Love the stain, but mine is not in the violet color, the one I have is more in the natural lip color. If she tries it you can always alter the color by putting another lip liner color under it. Hope this helps.
Answered by: SondraF
Date published: 2016-06-30

what are the colors?...

what are the colors?
Asked by: Anonymous
Bluish reds, pinks, mauves. Looks great if you prefer these tones. NO orange-y tone at all. Lasts a long time. Love this product.
Answered by: RobinO
Date published: 2016-06-30

I am blond with brown eyes and a medium conplection - For a sexy every day lip color - which red do ...

I am blond with brown eyes and a medium conplection - For a sexy every day lip color - which red do you suggets? I love Cameron Diaz's look
Asked by: LianeN
I am really pleased with the color and the stain. I took a chance and ordered it on line but I couldn't be happier with it. I use a lip pencil before I apply it and make sure I check that I don't have the "lipstick on the teeth" issue". It's all worth the extra bit of effort because the color is so beautiful.
Answered by: Anonymous
Date published: 2016-06-30

what color is a pinky neutral?...number 18 or 19?...

what color is a pinky neutral?...number 18 or 19?
Asked by: Anonymous
Hi- I use #6 so not sure but it looks like #19 is more neutral. Fantastic lipstick - good luck!
Answered by: KaitlynL
Date published: 2016-06-30

Which of the rouge colors is the least blue? I lighter reds with a golden or slightly orange tint w...

Which of the rouge colors is the least blue? I lighter reds with a golden or slightly orange tint work best on me and I want a red, but these all look like thye have a lot of blue, at least on my monitor. Thanks!
Asked by: Anonymous
The 2 I bought have a lot of blue in them. Stay away from the YSL reds and go for the more orange, coral or pinks if the blue undertones aren't good for you.
Answered by: BethB
Date published: 2016-06-30

What is the best color of lip stain for someone with fair skin color?...

What is the best color of lip stain for someone with fair skin color?
Asked by: Anonymous
every one but the lightest pink.
Answered by: Andrea JL
Date published: 2016-06-30

What is the best color for fair skin and dark brown/black hair?...

What is the best color for fair skin and dark brown/black hair?
Asked by: Anonymous
All the colors work because you can modify the intensity of the color by application.
Answered by: BarbaraH
Date published: 2016-06-30

I HAVE LIGHT TO MED SKIN COLOR, BROWNISH BLACK HAIR AND DARK BROWN EYES AGE 55 WHAT IS A GOOD COLOR ...

I HAVE LIGHT TO MED SKIN COLOR, BROWNISH BLACK HAIR AND DARK BROWN EYES AGE 55 WHAT IS A GOOD COLOR THAT WOULD NOT MAKE MY TEETH LOOK YELLOW. LOOKING FOR TWO COLORS ONE FOR EVENING AND ONE FOR EVERYDAY?
Asked by: charlenef
I think # 8 would be a great selection for your coloring.
Answered by: Anonymous
Date published: 2016-06-30

what is the difference between glossy stain and a regular lip gloss?...

what is the difference between glossy stain and a regular lip gloss?
Asked by: MelissaS
Although I love this product, it doesn't stay on as long as I had hoped. It does transfer quite a bit, so be careful when touching your lips and transferring it to clothes or other areas.
Answered by: miredbirdm
Date published: 2016-06-30

what color is the model wearing on the picture? is it #9?...

what color is the model wearing on the picture? is it #9?
Asked by: Anonymous
Yes, it is #9
Answered by: MragretA
Date published: 2016-06-30

Is the glossy stain sticky or feel sticky?...

Is the glossy stain sticky or feel sticky?
Asked by: *+*AmY*+**
I have tried a lot of stains in the past and find this one to be the best for me. The color is very long lasting and pretty much true to the color in the bottle. You can adjust the intensity by applying less. I think you will like it.
Answered by: SusanH
Date published: 2016-06-30

what is best color for very fair, pink-toned, cool skin tones in the glossy stain?...

what is best color for very fair, pink-toned, cool skin tones in the glossy stain?
Asked by: jc
I am a fair skinned, blue eyed, blonde. I ordered #6 and love it. It is a perfect summery coral and very complimentary.
Answered by: JanineW
Date published: 2016-06-30

Would Carmel Croisure be a light pinky neutral for the summer and would you use a lip liner with thi...

Would Carmel Croisure be a light pinky neutral for the summer and would you use a lip liner with this product?
Asked by: Anonymous
I always use a nude/ camel/ peachy lip liner with it, and it looks fantastic! Both dramatic and natural at the same time.
Answered by: KaitlynL
Date published: 2016-06-30

the most natural lip color is which?...

the most natural lip color is which?
Asked by: Anonymous
I am in love with the Camel Croisiere- I have several tubes, one for my purse, makeup bag, home etc. It is the perfect color in that it is natural, a coral/ red/ nude combination I have never been able to find until now! If you put on more than one coat it intensifies so you can vary how much color you want.
Answered by: KaitlynL
Date published: 2016-06-30

Is this "kiss-proof"?...

Is this "kiss-proof"?
Asked by: Anonymous
No, it is not, but I don't know any lipstick that truly is!
Answered by: KaitlynL
Date published: 2016-06-30

where can i buy?...

where can i buy?
Asked by: Anonymous
I buy mine from the YSL website but they also have it at Sephora.
Answered by: KaitlynL
Date published: 2016-06-30

pls tell me is it using malaysian ringgit?...

pls tell me is it using malaysian ringgit?
Asked by: Aqila ShiraM
beautiful color let dry with lips apart completely for best results
Answered by: DanitaD
Date published: 2016-06-30

I like a soft but firm pink shade will #15 be too pink?...

I like a soft but firm pink shade will #15 be too pink?
Asked by: Anonymous
it's a peachy pink shade and I find I can go light for just a little color or; layered for more intense color. Very flattering color - love it!
Answered by: ConnieB
Date published: 2016-06-30
  • y_2018, m_12, d_15, h_24CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_1020YSL, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_yvessaintlaurent
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 8ms
  • questions, product

LIPS

Any shade, any finish, any lip you want

SHOP