- engravable -

Opium Eau De Parfum Spray

Striking mandarin and bergamot with mystical myrrh and jasmine.

Opium Eau De Parfum Spray

Alternate Views

- engravable -

Opium Eau De Parfum Spray

Opium Eau De Parfum Spray is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 194.
  • y_2019, m_7, d_21, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_192
  • loc_en_US, sid_231YSL, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_yvessaintlaurent
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 126ms
  • reviews, product

Striking mandarin and bergamot with mystical myrrh and jasmine.

    • 1.0 oz. / 30 mL

      $67.00

    • 1.6 oz. / 50 mL

      $92.00

    • 3.0 oz. / 90 mL

      $122.00

$122.00

Available on 2.3 oz size and above.
YSL BEAUTY REWARDS CLUB Earn 1220 PTS
YSL BEAUTY REWARDS CLUB Join the club and get the rewards you deserve. $1 SPENT = 10 POINTS EARNED. JOIN NOW
-
+
YSL BEAUTY REWARDS CLUB Earn 1220 PTS
YSL BEAUTY REWARDS CLUB Join the club and get the rewards you deserve. $1 SPENT = 10 POINTS EARNED. JOIN NOW
Type

Women's Fragrance

What it is

The opulent decadence of the Eau de Parfum captures the overtly sensual spirit of the original parfum designed by Yves Saint Laurent, only in a lighter spray form. Striking notes of mandarin and bergamot are made mystical with middle notes myrrh and jasmine. A final accord of deep amber laced with Opoponaux imbues the scent with its celebrated rapture. In a chic Chinoiserie-inspired flacon.

ALCOHOL - FRAGRANCE - AQUA / WATER - BENZYL SALICYLATE - LIMONENE - BENZYL ALCOHOL - LINALOOL - HYDROXYCITRONELLAL - GERANIOL - EUGENOL - COUMARIN - CITRONELLOL - HEXYL CINNAMAL - BUTYL METHOXYDIBENZOYLMETHANE - BENZYL BENZOATE - CINNAMYL ALCOHOL - BHT - CITRAL - BENZYL CINNAMATE - ISOEUGENOL - AMYL CINNAMAL - ANISE ALCOHOL - CINNAMAL. (FIL C163941 / 2) 
Ratings & Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I get many compliments on this perfume. It's my favorite.
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Still in Love with it!! I have been wearing this for nearly thirty years now and I too can tell the difference in the formula, it's not that I don't like the "new" formula, but both I and my blind Granddaughter can tell the difference, and we both prefer the original! I was almost thinking of (after all of these years) considering trying your Opium Black, however, I haven't found anywhere that has a sample!! I know that may be asking a lot, but when you've been a devout customer for so long,it just seems like it should go without saying..that your company should offer such a minute request.
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Go back to the original Opium formula YSL! Go back to the original formula YSL! Thia is not the same great Opium and I can tell the difference.
Date published: 2019-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Lasting Perfume Each time I wear this gorgeous perfume I receive many compliments from people who want to know what I am wearing. It Is a very long lasting perfume and my bedroom smells wonderful days later after spraying it. I couldn’t live without this perfume in my life so don’t ever stop making it please.
Date published: 2019-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the free engraving I have been buying this for years and I am really disappointed the recipe was changed. It was so good before the change.
Date published: 2019-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So many compliments.... Been wearing Opium since my younger days, and still get compliments. Just this morning, on an elevator near DC, a woman asked me, what is that you're wearing? It's lovely!
Date published: 2019-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely The Best!! To the person who would like the name changed, while I appreciate your right to your opinion, I believe these reviews are not about the name. I’ve worn this for 35 years and after decades of compliments, I will not consider anything else! In my 20’s I tried almost all the popular high end fragrances but always returned to Opium! Once you learn some layering techniques, it can be both subtle for daytime and alluring-hypnotic for nighttime. Granted, it’s not for everyone as it mixes with each Womans chemistry different so it can’t fairly be assessed by spraying/smelling a tester. I do wish there were more options like other fragrances. I’d love to see the Body Oil come back, amazing feel!The Body Cream is far superior and last longer then the lotion. The powder is soft/shimmery, perfect for out of the shower/bath and freshening up. Please bring in more product options for Opium!!
Date published: 2019-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Opium! I have been wearing Opium for years...I wouldn't think of changing. It works in the winter and summer!!
Date published: 2019-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Still Love the Fragrance but not the bottle I still love Opium but I hate the fact that this bottle has a spray tube that does not go all the way to the bottom of the bottle, thus wasting a good portion of the perfume. I have other fragrances where the spray arm goes all the way down to the bottom of the bottle and nothing gets wasted. YSL needs to make some changes.
Date published: 2019-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite I have been wearing this scent for more years than I care to reveal. It is a spicy, sexy scent that is my signature scent for winter. (A little to heavy for summer months). By the way, the name? It's a name, that's all.
Date published: 2019-03-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Change the name! As a consumer I will not consider purchasing this product based on its name. Any attempt to glamorize opium has become grossly inappropriate in view of the crisis in our country.
Date published: 2019-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best gift my husband ever got me! this is the only perfume i ever wear! i love it!!!
Date published: 2019-01-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Please bring back the original powder Please bring back the original opium fragrance. I have worn this fragrance for years. I love the powder, cream & the perfume. Please let me know how to buy the powder. I don’t care for the new formula. Please bring back the original.
Date published: 2019-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad to find my fragrance again! I tried four large department stores and ULTA, and all that was being sold was Black Opium, which is a nice fragrance, but nothing compares to the Original! Keep making it possible for me to buy it!
Date published: 2019-01-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What have you done?? I have worn Opium for over 20 years but the Eau de parfum I got this Christmas is nothing like the original. It is actually quite unpleasant. At first I thought it was a 'fake' but after reading the reviews on this site I see the formula has been changed from the original. Why ?? I'll never buy it again!!
Date published: 2018-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So so please with staff on phone I have been looking for a long time for the Opium spray. There are so many fakes out there, so was really happy when I found the main office.I will be making more purchases. Thank you
Date published: 2018-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Opium ea de parfu. Love this product like none other ....the best parfum ever
Date published: 2018-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My signature scent. I love Opium. This is my signature scent. I but this roughly 3x a year.. Love the lotion that comes in the Christmas Special..
Date published: 2018-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YSL is the BEST! I absolutely love and adore the rich sexiness of Opium. Not a perfume for a coy girl but for a confident, commanding woman, who is unafraid to be herself.
Date published: 2018-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this perfume!! I am so happy that I finally purchased this perfume!! It has such a special fragrance!! I could wear it everyday, I love it that much!! And the fragrance lasts for a very long tine!! I would definitely recommend this perfume!!!! Love love love it!!!! I’m going to get the lotion now!!!
Date published: 2018-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Only perfume i wear.....................beautiful!
Date published: 2018-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My all-time favorite perfume. This is my all-time favorite perfume, has been for years.
Date published: 2018-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best It' s a unique smell, so special and unforgettable!
Date published: 2018-09-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from SAD, AFTER INJURY_READY FOR BEST SCENT-GONE. I really don't trust the company. Loyal customer gone. I find it hard to believe it was "illegal"...or whatever your excuse is. When you come out with a different scent please don't mislead your customers with the WRONG name. Bring back Opium and maybe your customers will return.
Date published: 2018-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE OPIUM! I HAVE ENJOYED OPIUM PERFUME SINCE 1982! I'M 62 A NEW BOTTLE EVERY YR FOR MY BIRTHDAY!
Date published: 2018-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I adore Opium and have done so for years, Opium has been my favourite for decades. Not much is needed on the skin at one time and the fragrance is to die for. I do like the spray but the more concentrated Opium that is dabbed on the skin is pure luxury.
Date published: 2018-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not the old Opium...but it's still wonderful! I agree that this is missing the magic of the old Opium. It definitely lost something very special when it was reformulated. However, it's still pretty awesome! Other than the old formula, there's nothing I'd rather have on my wrists. And since the old formula isn't coming back...I accept what is, and am happy with my purchase. Thank you!
Date published: 2018-07-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just Ok Bought it for my wife, it seems powdery like a chemical, probably due to reformulation must have lost its original. should have got black opium.
Date published: 2018-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love Opium but miss the original scent. I must confess I am a life long Opium fan. I have not worn another fragrance since 1976; however, I do miss the original scent. I used to get stopped by strangers asking me what I was wearing or just that I smelled marvelous. I do not get the same reviews today, but Opium is still a classic for me.
Date published: 2018-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE Opium Perfume Ive worn Opium Perfume 30 + years. My husband fell in love with Opium while he fell in love with me. It's a wonderful scent day night and in between!
Date published: 2018-05-10
  • y_2019, m_7, d_21, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_192
  • loc_en_US, sid_231YSL, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_yvessaintlaurent
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 43ms
  • reviews, product

Questions & Answers

I heard Opium was reformulated when the new bottle was introduced. Is this true?...

I heard Opium was reformulated when the new bottle was introduced. Is this true?
Asked by: Anonymous
TO ALL THOSE NOTICING A DIFFERENCE IN THE NEWER OPIUM: America is one of the countries that passed a law forbiding the import of Ambergris or products containing Ambergris. Ambergris is a substance taken from whales. It is what has given many perfumes a more enhanced and luxurious scent for many years. Chanel has also gone through reformulations on their scents imported to the U.S. There are some countries that don't abide by these regulations, but you would need to research this on your own. The bottom line is: Please do not blame YSL, for they are just abiding by the law. I will still use Opium - even the reformulated scent is wonderful to me.
Answered by: MichelleL
Date published: 2016-06-29

How is this product?...

How is this product?
Asked by: Anonymous
Marcie H: I've been hooked on Opium for over 20 years, my ex-husband was the first to buy it for me. I fell in love with it. Sadly the marriage didn't last.....but the Opium lasted longer...lol! It's just amazing! People are always complimenting me on my beautiful smell and I just adore that kind of attention. Opium will be with me forever. Now my daughter is hooked it too. It's just the best smell available, that's all there is to it. I can tell it from any other smell. I love love love Opium. THE END!
Answered by: MarcieH
Date published: 2016-06-29

Does it compare favorably with original parfum?...

Does it compare favorably with original parfum?
Asked by: Anonymous
Yes. It is a good buy. I have been using it for about 18 years.
Answered by: ShilaH
Date published: 2016-06-29

For YEARS I have been using Opium and would not dream of buying anything else. However, the last ti...

For YEARS I have been using Opium and would not dream of buying anything else. However, the last time I purchased it, I was disappointed. I am not able to shop for myself and asked someone to bring me a bottle expecting the same thing. The square bottle was brought to me and it does not have the same fragrance of the taller bottle. Have you changed packaging as well as the formula? Where can I purchase my old favorite?
Asked by: Anonymous
I experienced the same thing until I realized I could purchase Opium directly from Yves St. Laurent. I know longer experience the variation in the parfum strength and rich fragrance. I would recommend you stick with this website and leave the stores alone. Good luck to you.
Answered by: MalaniousG
Date published: 2016-06-30

I've recently heard that the formulation/scent of opium has changed from the original one created ba...

I've recently heard that the formulation/scent of opium has changed from the original one created back in the 1970's. Is this true?
Asked by: Anonymous
The fragrance notes do not seem AS INTENSE or lasting as long as previous purchases. I continue to use the fragrance because I like it, and people continually mention how wonderful I smell. That says it all..
Answered by: judithk
Date published: 2016-06-29

This Opium Eau D Parfum Spray, is it the oil spray? The last one I had was in oil form with a spray...

This Opium Eau D Parfum Spray, is it the oil spray? The last one I had was in oil form with a spray
Asked by: civitac
It is not an oil spray.
Answered by: Anonymous
Date published: 2016-06-29

I believe some Perfumes can smell quiet different from one person to another due to the oils in thei...

I believe some Perfumes can smell quiet different from one person to another due to the oils in their skin etc I'm told - True or False - I'm sure we have all at some time had someone ask what we are wearing and when told they say "it dosn't smell that nice on me!! Just Curious?
Asked by: Anonymous
It IS different...I have worn this for over 30 years and my body chemistry has not changed. I do not like the new formula.
Answered by: KathleenS
Date published: 2016-06-29

I have what is probably a dumb question, but I don't have a clue about this stuff and I need to buy ...

I have what is probably a dumb question, but I don't have a clue about this stuff and I need to buy it for my wife. Is "Parfum" the same as "Perfume"??. I just found ot what the difference is between "Perfume" and "Toilet Water". Help...
Asked by: Anonymous
Parfum is French is for Perfume. They are the same. Eau de Parfum has a slightly stronger and longer lasting scent than Eau de Toilet. Literally, it means perfume water.
Answered by: MARK PG
Date published: 2016-06-29

Is the 3 oz size sold in stores?...

Is the 3 oz size sold in stores?
Asked by: Anonymous
Yes, but it depends on the store. I buy directly from ISL beauty US, and I am very happy with them. The ordering format is user friendly and delivery is expedite.
Answered by: MargaritaC
Date published: 2016-06-29

Is for women or man ?...

Is for women or man ?
Asked by: Anonymous
I disagree with Mark as I think a man can easily wear this as long as it is done with moderation. There are certainly other mens' colognes that are rich and 'spicy' like Opium. The Parfum or EDP is likely too strong for a man, but I certainly don't have a problem with the occasional spray of EDT. I get a lot of compliments - and some are from guys who want to try it themselves.
Answered by: BrandonB
Date published: 2016-06-29

Does the new opium bottles contain the same perfume as the older, taller bottles?...

Does the new opium bottles contain the same perfume as the older, taller bottles?
Asked by: JanetM
YSL didn't reformulate the juice, as far as I know, and it smells the same to my nose.
Answered by: MatthewM
Date published: 2016-06-29

where can I purchase opium secret de parfum ? I have just used up the...

where can I purchase opium secret de parfum ? I have just used up the Audrey Max, R.N.
Asked by: Audrey L.M
I bought my Opium Parfum from the website, but you can try any major department stores in a mall. Just ask the person behind the counter if they carry this product, and if not, would they know where you could get it. Most are very helpful with stuff like that.
Answered by: Anonymous
Date published: 2016-06-30

What has happened to BlueBell? was my favoriteand men were allover me. Any one has any idea what sce...

What has happened to BlueBell? was my favoriteand men were allover me. Any one has any idea what scent took it's place?
Asked by: DeniseF

Where can I buy the orginal opium toiletee, the orginal that is. This new stuff you stuff you are s...

Where can I buy the orginal opium toiletee, the orginal that is. This new stuff you stuff you are selling is terrible and it's smell is awful. I threw the bottle out and it cost big bucks.?
Asked by: Anonymous

what are the different sizes the EDP bottles come in?...

what are the different sizes the EDP bottles come in? richard H
Asked by: Anonymous

how much is delivery to australia?...

how much is delivery to australia?
Asked by: Anonymous

Does anyone know where I can find the original formula opium? I have read many comments about the n...

Does anyone know where I can find the original formula opium? I have read many comments about the new formula and like many of you have used opium for many years. I do not wish to change to a different version and be dissappointed. I love wearing the original.
Asked by: Anonymous

Is Opium perfume oil still available?...

Is Opium perfume oil still available?
Asked by: SharonW

I am looking for the purse size spray Opium spray parfum. Is this available?...

I am looking for the purse size spray Opium spray parfum. Is this available?
Asked by: Anonymous
  • y_2019, m_7, d_21, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_231YSL, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_yvessaintlaurent
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 17.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 118ms
  • questions, product