Overall rating

Reviews

by 36 people

Smells beauiful!

Dec 1, 2016

Everything was as promised. My wife was very pleased. Thank you..

great gift for my mom she loved it.

Dec 24, 2016

MY MOM WAS VERY HAPPY TO THIS WITH HER INTIALS ON THE BOTTLE.

Too bad it is not the same as it used to be

Dec 11, 2016

I have been using this Opium since i was 18 and now i am 53. But for the last 6 years it has not been the same in no way. I tried using the Eau de Toilette to see if its fragrance quality is better, and it turned out that it is even worse. (Does not last for more than one hour, if it does). I bought it from different countries to see if there is a difference. But it turned out the same. I really cannot understand how can such a special fragrance be changed dramatically like this. It is a pity paying this much money for a perfume which does not reflect your personality. This is not the "real" Opium of the not so distant past! The spice of sandalwood, allure and fragrance no longer exist and it does not stimulate the senses like it used to be. No more compliments when i pass by people like i used to get in the far past. Please bring back the old formula, i don't want to change my first and only perfume i have been using.

Opium perfume

Nov 1, 2016

What is happening to opium perfume???
It's not like before. The scent lasted for hours on the old version.
This new version opium is almost like buying a simple body mist for $10.00
But worse than a simple spray.
It don't last more than a hour.
It's like spraying water scent mist.
The only perfume I buy is opium.
I used this perfume or toilette since 1992.
I also have a variety collection of the old version.
Can you please change the perfume back to the old version please.

Disappointed- Not the Original scent

Nov 10, 2016

Wore Opium since 1976. Loved it. The new bottle I just bought doesnot have the same scent. Very Disappointed.

Old fragrance

Nov 20, 2016

The old fragrance was so much better, I bought the new one and it just was the same. Had to go on eBay to find the old one.

Love this parfum

Nov 20, 2016

I absolutely love this fragrance. I get lots of compliments every time I wear it. It's has got to be my favorite smell!

Absolutely amazing

Dec 25, 2016

I've bought this scent for years at Macy's. It is so amazing and I love it. It's not super fruity or florally. It has a wonderful blend of scents that really make it stand out from anything else around. Other "opium" perfumes that try to mimic this fail and fall short in quality and scent.

My all time favorite

Dec 29, 2016

This is my 3rd bottle of Opium and is absolutely my most favorite of all parfums. I often switch brands just for a little extra excitement in my life but always return to this one. I am now considering purchasing Black but wonder if it too will fulfill my expectations. Wait and see.

I miss my favorite smell

Dec 18, 2016

Not the same, I wanted it to be the same. I'm not happy ☹️️

Fantastic!

Jan 2, 2017

I have woren this product since its introduction in the 1980s. Have also continued with the shower gel and the body cream. It's timeless!

Extremely disappointed!

Oct 29, 2016

This new version smells flat & like a cheap knock off of the rich & deep
fragrance I remembered, & thought I was getting. Had I not bought it from
YSL directly, I'd have thought I was sold a copy....maybe I was. Are you
sure this is what you're calling Opium these days? It also has no staying
power....am disgusted.

Disappointed!

Oct 10, 2016

I have been wearing Opium for 30 years. The fragrance would last all day. Recently I used the last of my original scent. The new formula for Opium has changed. They removed the carnation oil due to import regulations. Now it doesn't have the sensual lasting fragrance any more. So sad! I loved the original formula! This new one... not so much! Shame!!!!

I hope they keep making this perfume forever

Oct 13, 2016

I know that the target market for this perfume is a little older than me but it is so sophisticated, works so well with my body chemistry, and I get tons of compliments on it. Also, it doesn't trigger sneezing in sensitive coworkers the way cheap body sprays do. I hope they keep making this forever. Not only would I recommend it to a friend; I have purchased it for a friend.

The new formula is a great disappointment !!

Jul 28, 2016

New formula is a great disappointment! Wore the original for over 30 years.

OPIUM MYSTERY SOLVED

May 3, 2015

FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO ARE BEYOND FRUSTRATED ABOUT THE RE-FORMULATED OPIUM, LET ME SAY I SHARE YOUR SADNESS. I CONDUCTED A 6-MONTH RESEARCH, INCLUDING WRITING TO YSL. WELL, HERE IT IS: THE FRAGRANCE NOTE THAT IS MISSING IS CARNATION. APPARENTLY THERE IS SOME TYPE OF REGULATION ON USING CARNATION OIL AND ITS' IMPORTATION. UNLESS THIS NOTE IS DE-REGULATED, WE WILL NEVER EXPERIENCE THE EXOTIC AND SENSUAL FRAGRANCE MOST OF HAVE USED FOR 20 TO 30 YEARS. I USED TO SAY, "A DAY WITHOUT OPIUM IS LIKE A DAY WITHOUT SUNSHINE." I HAVE SEARCHED FOR A FRAGRANCE THAT COMES CLOSE TO OPIUM WITH NO LUCK. I HAVE, THEREFORE, SWITCHED OVER TO CHANEL COCO NOIR. IF YOU WANT CARNATION TOP NOTES, GO WITH L'AIR DU TEMPS, BUT NOTHING CAN REPLACE OPIUM. I WOULD PAY DOUBLE IF YSL WOULD BRING IT BACK.. SORRY OPIUM LOVERS--ITHIS STORY DOESN'T HAVE A HAPPY ENDING.

Hate what you have done to Opium receipe

Nov 20, 2013

I've been wearing Opium for 30 years and I hate what you have done to the original receipe of this fragrance. It doesn't even smell like the original at all. You need to fix the change as you are losing customers. On ebay people are paying a fortune old half used bottles of the old original opium becaused they LOVE the smell of the old original fragrance.

PLEASE bring the old formulation back!

Oct 11, 2016

I was stunned when I read all of the 1 star reviews! It was as if I was writing them myself. I too, have been wearing Opium since 1980. It was magical on me. I had a friend who also wore Opium and would ask me, what I was wearing because it had such a beautiful scent with my body chemistry. I won't wear the new one. Maybe will use up the bottle as air freshener in the bathroom. PLEASE listen to all of us who have been in love with you and supporting your company for 30+ years. Bring the OLD scent back, heart-broken!

Opium revi

Aug 22, 2016

Very pleased with this purchase. Was out recently and received several compliments on how good I smelled. Have been an opium user for years.

New Opium formula harsh - not enticing

Apr 5, 2012

Not what I expected. Have been a long-time fan of what I thought was a classic. I ordered a new bottle and thought I'd been scammed. NOTHING like the original formula that I loved. Yves St Laurent -- Why would you change such a sensual recognizable scent into bug bomb?