Overall rating

Reviews

by 32 people

This is my all time favorite!

May 24, 2017

I am 60 and first started wearing this fragrance when I was 16.

Although hard to acquire it remains my favorite and brings me back to my youth!

I'm sad to review my perfume had a rancid smell

Aug 10, 2017

Insult to Injury: Like many, this is a decades-long favorite. My mom used it. I was so excited to find it at YSL but sadly the spray smelled awful, nothing like Rive Gauche. Three people actually asked me not to wear it at work. I'm crushed. Worse yet, YSL will not pay return postage and the operator did not offer to replace it.

THE BEST PURCHASE

Mar 3, 2017

I LOVE MY RIVE GAUCHE. ALWAYS HAVE. BEEN WEARING IT SINCE MY TWENTIES & NOW IN MY SIXTIES

My moms signature scent

Dec 12, 2016

My mom has been wearing this scent for as long as I can remember and she still loves it! It is very classic and has never gone out of style. We purchase her a new one once a year - usually for Christmas, and the bottle lasts for the entire year.

Was excited to find this again!

Dec 28, 2016

I loved this scent years ago..... like 30+ yrs ago and haven't been able to find it in forever! I was so excited to find it on the Yves St Laurent site and it smells as wonderful now as it did then! I'm so elated to have this on my armoire again!

The Best

Mar 28, 2012

Please, YSL, begin reproducing this product. You can no longer obtain it, and I have worn it for years. I plead with you to put this back on the market.

Sincerely,
B

Favorite all time fragrance next to tuxedo

Feb 23, 2017

Will have to purchase from YSL site as my Amazon purchase is more green smelling than original fresh powdery clean fragrance. The bottle I just finished using was from France back in the late 90s I asked a friend to buy to compare USA to France version. Never buying from Amazon or eBay again with this fragrance. Staying power lacks in comparison as well.
Incidentally, please please please bring back short lived fragrance tuxedo???
Next to rive gauche my all time favorite by ysl. Thank you.

Rive Gauche

Dec 21, 2016

I love this fragrance! I've been wearing it for over 35 years and I still receive compliments.

The best perfume ever!

Sep 6, 2016

A student of mine gave me a sample of this 25 years ago, and I am still in love with this fragrance.

Just as I remembered!!!

Oct 23, 2016

I brought a bootle of this perfume was I was overseas and loved it. I have been unable to find it here in the States in my area. I decided to check on line and was happy to find it.

Received quickly and smells as winderful as I remember!!!

Smells amazing

Mar 17, 2015

I love Rive Gauche, but most importantly I get more compliments wearing this perfume than any other. I wish there was a full line of products. And I wish there was a perfume version. I am too young to remember it from the 70's. My best friends mom did wear this perfume but I don't remover the cent on her. I only remember the iconic bottle.

This perfume never gets old!

Jan 25, 2017

I bought this perfume, for the first time, about 18years ago (or so). I've been in love with this scent since.

Timeless

Nov 19, 2016

Love, love, love. As a child 40 yrs ago , I loved it then when my mother wore it and I now as an adult continue to wear it. It's a must have!

nothing no other fragrance compare to Rive Gauche

Apr 6, 2016

Spray it on a sweater a scarf , a pillow and let it seat for 3 days and no other fragrance delivers like it,
wear it and see what it does to people..strangers... no fragrance create such an amazing response of and from the senses..who ever wears, has worn Rive Gauche, has a story to tell about what it does, even to complete strangers...

Older but Very Good

Nov 12, 2013

My mother wore it and now I do I love it and always takes me back when I would smell it on my mother since she passed I wear it now and my children and grand children know this fragrance is me

In remberance of my mama

Dec 24, 2015

I am so happy to have found this site. My mom wore this Rieve Gauche back in the 70'S and I loved the scent I would sneak and spray some when I got ready to go somewhere lol. I feel this scent will bring me a little bit of heaven in Remberance of her. Thank you. Tears

Rive Gauche, Please Return

Jun 19, 2014

As a 12 year old child, while watching my aunt prepare for work in front of the mirror, she turned to me and handed me a third full container of Rive Gauche. "Here, keep this!" Those words were my cue to spritz that amazing scent on me. I could not believe it, I owned such an exquisite scent. I remember using my beautiful Rive Gauche fragrance sparingly so as to preserve it.
That moment and the fragrance have remained in my memory for my entire life. I have continued to wear Rive Gauche and love as much as when I was 12. I lead YSL to understand how difficult it is to obtain this most beautiful fragrance. I particularly like to be able to purchase a fragrance spontaneously from any retailer, since I run out of Rive Gauche frequently. My question is WHY is a fragrance, which is clearly the most beautiful on your entire line and in any retail store, on such a hiatus? Please stop making the many Rive Gauche customers have to buy such a limited line of your absolute winner, Rive Gauche. Bring back an entire line of Rive Gauche! There is nothing but garbage out there! Rive Gauche must return!
Thank you,
Smelling of Rive Gauche

Nirvana

Aug 25, 2013

The best scent I've ever used in my entire life. I've sprayed my linens, my scarves, my stationery...please bring back the full line. At one time I had the perfume, the body crème, the toilette...everything. It's so hard to get in the States, and I never see the perfume or rich body crème. I have not had any for years and people still ask about the perfume I used to wear.

evocative

Mar 12, 2014

I first was exposed to this scent in 1973; my best friend's mother wore it. I made it my own and have been wearing it ever since. I, like many others, feel the complete line should be brought back! I really miss the lotion, parfum, and would love the powder. Please, YSL, listen to those who know and love the true essence of this fragrance. I have been associated with it all these years, as was my mother! I brought it home and she loved it. Since she and my friend's mother have passed, I carry the torch!