Overall rating

Reviews

by 1004 people

YSL Faux Cils Mascara

May 5, 2015

I got this product free to try from Influenster to try and review. I have to say that I love this mascara. It really makes my eyelashes look long and thick. It also has a great smell to it.

Why did you ruin perfection?

Jul 3, 2016

Your new so called improved mascara is the worst goes under my eyes clumps up in the heat color not same masc effet faux cils was the best in extreme blue color pleez can i buy old formula

So AMAZED!

Mar 24, 2015

this mascara is absolutely one of the best I've ever tried. I'm so in love with how they make my lashes look longer and thicker. I have two other favorites, too faced BTS Mascara

Makes you look made up wearing this only

Mar 27, 2015

I received this mascara free to provide my unbiased review. I am impressed. I have long lashes so even average mascaras make my lashes look longer. This mascara added volume and length giving me that false eyelash fringe. My lashes even cast a shadow on my cheeks and smudge my eyeglasses because they keep smooshing against the lenses (that how long they got). The only thing, which is not the fault of the formula is that unless it is waterproof mascara, I always get smudges under my eyes midday. I have this issue with all non-waterproof mascara which why I only purchase waterproof formulas. When I decide to splurge on mascara I will buy this one but in the waterproof formula.

YSL review

Apr 6, 2015

I received this mascara as a free product to test and review from Influenster. (These are my own thoughts and opinions.) I am a huge fan of this product! First, it smells amazing, that totally caught me by surprise. I've never used a scented mascara before and it was a very pleasant surprise. In terms of performance, this mascara held up super well after long wear, and it did not give me panda eyes at the end of the day. It did a nice job separating my lashes and they did not clump. I would highly recommend this to someone else. Thanks Influenster!!!

LOVE LOVE LOVE!

Mar 23, 2015

I was so excited when I received this mascara complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes. The first thing I noticed when I opened the mascara is that it smells amazing! Which is strange for a mascara, since they always smell quite strange. This mascara smells like perfume! The formula is nice and lightweight, it won't leave your lashes with clumps and it's not sticky. I love that it's buildable. I can do five coats of this mascara and my lashes will still look like lashes and not like spider legs. I love that they kept the applicator shape quite simple, not too thick or thin, just a classic mascara applicator shape. I find that the classic wands do way more for my lashes. Overall I love that they've reformulated this mascara because it feels like my lashes are getting an extra nourishment along with the volume and length that I want. The beautiful two-toned gold/rose gold packaging is a nice plus.

The Best!

Apr 16, 2015

I live this mascara! No clumps, no flaking. Perfect coverage in 2 coats with beautiful full looking lashes worth a formula that lasts all day and into the night. I'm a mascara snob and have been looking for the holy hail product for some time now, going so far as to using multiple brands/formulas to try to get the perfect blend. With this YSL mascara, now more mixing! One product, perfect coverage, no spider lashes! I'm in love!I received this product from influenster in a YSL voxbox for testing proposes only, but you have now found a new customer. This was my first ever YSL product, and I have to say I'm very impressed. I'll be back for more.

Best Masacara..

Apr 28, 2015

I've used! Love the length it gives and the scent is amazing!! I was sent this product from influentser and so glad I was able to try it out! I'll definitely be buying again once I run out :) If you haven't tried it you need to!

Best mascara!

Mar 22, 2015

I received this mascara to test out from Influenster and omg I absolutely love it. It's the most blackest mascara I've ever tried. It has a little fragrance to me and I like it. It makes my lashes look longer, fuller, none clumsy and it separates them too. I would definitely recommend this mascara to everyone.

Perfect Mascara <3

Apr 5, 2015

Let me tell you, I LOVE this mascara. It's the perfect one if you really love the false lashes / very intense eye look because this gives me volume, lenghts and pretty intense color to my lashes. For everyday use i just need one coat in upper and lower lashes, but when Im looking an intense look i apply two coats. You will get thiker and longer lashes and that's what I Always look for in a new mascara. The only let down for me is that de Regular black version its not water resistant but i think you can get a waterproof one. I test the Faux Cils Mascara For Free thanks to influenster and YSL beauty but all opinions are my own and completely true.

Good, but not great

Apr 28, 2015

I really love mascaras. I have tried a bunch, but never one so high end or as unique as this one. The brush is awesome, my favorite part. It is bushy enough to really pick up product (but not too much), but somehow manages to coat lashes delicately without an overload of product. It also separates them, and it's not too big like some others I have tried. Formula-wise... eh. I'm not a big fan of the thought of scented mascara. It smells good, I just don't want to put smelly things near my eyes. It's a bit wet for my taste, especially because it gets kind of goopy. Still leads to some pretty lashes, but it takes a while for it to dry entirely. Wear-wise, it kind of can smudge/chip off throughout the day, but it's not that bad. It comes off pretty easily when you want it to though. Overall, I wouldn't say it's my favorite mascara, nor is it worth the money, but it's a fun splurge, I guess. I received the mascara from Influenster for testing purposes, but all opinions are my own.

Would be PERFECT if only it didn't smudge...

Mar 23, 2015

I really wanted to love this mascara. I really, really did. Unfortunately, that didn't happen. While I'm a HUGE fan of YSL's foundations and powders, I'm one of the few (it seems) who is unable to wear YSL Volume Effet Faux Cils mascara. I'd tried the previous formulation in the past, and was excited for the new, reformulated version in hopes that it might be just the mascara that I'm looking for.. but it wasn't. The color (1 High Density Black) was PERFECT; it was a deep, dark, wet black color that really intensified my blue eyes. The formula does what it says: It gives volume. Lots of volume. Unfortunately for me, however, I had raccoon eyes within two to three hours of applying this mascara. I re-applied the mascara using a lash primer (and the effect was AMAZING!) but again it was smudged on my lower eyelid within a couple of hours. The mascara smudged terribly beneath my eyes, despite the fact that my other makeup was flawless. The new formula doesn't dry to a smudge-free finish and remains slightly wet, even with a single coat. While I am very grateful to have received this YSL Volume Effet Faux Cils Mascara from Influenster and YSL for free in return for my honest opinion, this isn't a mascara that I will be purchasing in the future. At least... not unless YSL develops a smudge-free version.

Good Falsies Effect!

Mar 31, 2015

I received the Yves Saint Laurent MASCARA complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes.
After I used it for a week: I loved how this mascara went on, and was amazed at how my lashes looked. The application is smooth and it does not clump no matter how many layers are used. I used about 3 coats. It delivers everything I was hoping for. Needless to say, I’m a big fan now! See full review, before and after photos on the Big Apple Mama Blog

creamy and rich

Apr 1, 2015

This Mascara is rich, creamy and silky smooth upon application. It glides on easily and very black. It does not leave my lashes cruncy and does not flake. I only need to apply two coats to get a thick full look. I normally use two types of mascaras to get the full look I like. I am currently only using this one on it's own. I was given the opportunity to test the Faux Cils Mascara for free, but all opinions are your own.

dont smear!

Apr 19, 2015

I really liked the packaging the gold makes it look like a million bucks. The wand is on the small side but creates volume for sure. Overall I like this mascara better than my drugstore ones, but it smears a lot!

LOVE!

Apr 28, 2015

I tested the Faux Cils Mascara for free (all opinions are my own) from Influenster and I have to tell you that I absolutely love this mascara and will buy it again! This mascara makes my lashes look full and long. The mascara is a thick formula, it glides on nice with no clumps and still leaves my lashes soft, not hard as a rock like others can. I wear contacts and have had no problems with it flaking off. I also should say that I have super oily skin and a lot of times because of that I get smudges very easily, but this mascara doesn't do that. Definitely will be a go-to from now on!

Absolute Perfection!

Mar 23, 2015

This mascara is AMAZING! But, I mean would I really expect anything less from YSL! The name is synonymous with beauty and perfection!
I received my mascara in the mail and I admit...I had my doubts.
But 1. it glides on so SMOOTH, 2. made my eyes pop! 3. NO CLUMPING
It added volume and length and honestly, it looks like when I used to get eyelash extensions.

I may have found a new obsession.
definitely not a bad thing. I am so hooked on this mascara!
I am a girl who wears lipstick and mascara for my everyday look, and occasionally I may throw on some cheek. So this mascara is a STAPLE for my everyday look.

And, at night it washes off with ease!
yet during an allergy attack with itchy watery eyes it didn't make me look like a raccoon either!
YSL you definitely know what you're doing.

absolute and complete and total...PERFECTION!!

Wears Beautifully

Mar 28, 2015

I was sent this mascara to review however all opinions are that of my own. Pros : Curls lashes amazingly without having to actually curl them first. Wears all day and night no wilting or flaking off. Removes promptly with a proper makeup remover solution or wipe. Smells fantastic ! Cons : Is on the pricier side. Can clump my lashes if I am not on the careful side but I have found that using the tip of the applicator to do some detail work by lifting and separating individual lashes fixes this issue.

Only one coat really needed for a luscious yet natural and not over done look. Very impressed with this mascara and would consider re-purchasing it !

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS MASCARA

Apr 6, 2015

Hands down this is one of the best formulas out there. Although a little pricey, it is well worth every penny. I received mine from being apart of the influenster group. I absolutely adore the formula and the wand. It isn't too sticky but also isn't runny. I actually sweat alot and i did not look like a raccoon after wearing the mascara from 8 am to 9 pm with an hour at the gym..... It is a little hard to get off but what good mascara isn't ??? I will be purchasing my own today for my kit.

volumizing

Apr 10, 2015

I love this mascara! It makes my eyelashes look long and full. The mascara has a creamy texture and goes on smoothly. The brush is nice and full which coats all your lashes including the little ones. I have gotten many compliments on my lashes since I have been using this mascara. No clumps on my lashes or on the brush. Definitely worth the price!