Overall rating


by 1004 people

63 yr old Eyelashes

Sep 28, 2016

I am 63 yrs old. I use eyelash serum,
Eye lash curling iron, foundation and then
Your mascara. I am very pleased. At my
Age I noticed last years I no longer had full or long lashes. With this regiment they have gotten noticed by friends
And strangers. I researched your product
Before I bought it. The only criticism is
That mine has clumped. The hot curler
Gets rid of it but I had read it doesn't clump
That aside, with your mascara, they almost look like false lashes. Thx for that. I would send u a picture but my phone is having issues.

Why did you ruin perfection?

Jul 3, 2016

Your new so called improved mascara is the worst goes under my eyes clumps up in the heat color not same masc effet faux cils was the best in extreme blue color pleez can i buy old formula

YSL Faux Cils Mascara

May 5, 2015

I got this product free to try from Influenster to try and review. I have to say that I love this mascara. It really makes my eyelashes look long and thick. It also has a great smell to it.

The Best!

Apr 16, 2015

I live this mascara! No clumps, no flaking. Perfect coverage in 2 coats with beautiful full looking lashes worth a formula that lasts all day and into the night. I'm a mascara snob and have been looking for the holy hail product for some time now, going so far as to using multiple brands/formulas to try to get the perfect blend. With this YSL mascara, now more mixing! One product, perfect coverage, no spider lashes! I'm in love!I received this product from influenster in a YSL voxbox for testing proposes only, but you have now found a new customer. This was my first ever YSL product, and I have to say I'm very impressed. I'll be back for more.


Mar 24, 2015

this mascara is absolutely one of the best I've ever tried. I'm so in love with how they make my lashes look longer and thicker. I have two other favorites, too faced BTS Mascara


Mar 23, 2015

I was so excited when I received this mascara complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes. The first thing I noticed when I opened the mascara is that it smells amazing! Which is strange for a mascara, since they always smell quite strange. This mascara smells like perfume! The formula is nice and lightweight, it won't leave your lashes with clumps and it's not sticky. I love that it's buildable. I can do five coats of this mascara and my lashes will still look like lashes and not like spider legs. I love that they kept the applicator shape quite simple, not too thick or thin, just a classic mascara applicator shape. I find that the classic wands do way more for my lashes. Overall I love that they've reformulated this mascara because it feels like my lashes are getting an extra nourishment along with the volume and length that I want. The beautiful two-toned gold/rose gold packaging is a nice plus.

Best Masacara..

Apr 28, 2015

I've used! Love the length it gives and the scent is amazing!! I was sent this product from influentser and so glad I was able to try it out! I'll definitely be buying again once I run out :) If you haven't tried it you need to!

YSL review

Apr 6, 2015

I received this mascara as a free product to test and review from Influenster. (These are my own thoughts and opinions.) I am a huge fan of this product! First, it smells amazing, that totally caught me by surprise. I've never used a scented mascara before and it was a very pleasant surprise. In terms of performance, this mascara held up super well after long wear, and it did not give me panda eyes at the end of the day. It did a nice job separating my lashes and they did not clump. I would highly recommend this to someone else. Thanks Influenster!!!


Apr 6, 2015

Hands down this is one of the best formulas out there. Although a little pricey, it is well worth every penny. I received mine from being apart of the influenster group. I absolutely adore the formula and the wand. It isn't too sticky but also isn't runny. I actually sweat alot and i did not look like a raccoon after wearing the mascara from 8 am to 9 pm with an hour at the gym..... It is a little hard to get off but what good mascara isn't ??? I will be purchasing my own today for my kit.

Lashes for Days

Mar 23, 2015

First off, this mascara is so elegantly packaged, the sleek gold cylinder with the YSL emblem looks great on my makeup counter, which I could not say for my other mascaras. The formula itself (high density black) is smooth, buttery, has ultra dark pigmentation, and does not clump. The best feature of this mascara is the lengthening and curling effect, which for me elevates the formulation of this mascara to Holy Grail status. My eyelashes look twice as long using this mascara and fan out beautifully across my lids. If you have blue eyes I would highly recommend the black because WOW it really makes them pop! The one downside I have is that I think the brush could be smaller to help apply product in the corners of the eyes and near the waterline. I tested Faux Cils Mascara for free, but all opinions are my own.

Love it!!!

Apr 23, 2015

I got this mascara courtesy of Influenster and I have to say this is the best mascara I have tried in years!! I actually like the smell of it too. This is some amazing stuff!!!

Best mascara!

Mar 22, 2015

I received this mascara to test out from Influenster and omg I absolutely love it. It's the most blackest mascara I've ever tried. It has a little fragrance to me and I like it. It makes my lashes look longer, fuller, none clumsy and it separates them too. I would definitely recommend this mascara to everyone.

Awesome Mascara

Apr 21, 2015

I've never tried YSL Mascara before, but have always heard great things. When I tried this mascara, I couldn't believe how well it worked! It made my lashes long and gorgeous. YSL adds B5 vitamins to the formula so it goes on smooth, but apparently also helps your lashes grow (and I'm all about that!). It lasts all day without rubbing off. Some mascaras tend to rub off and give me an even darker under eye...well not the YSL mascara! It withstood my crying. Now THAT is an accomplishment.
All in all it is an amazing product that I plan to keep using!

Would be PERFECT if only it didn't smudge...

Mar 23, 2015

I really wanted to love this mascara. I really, really did. Unfortunately, that didn't happen. While I'm a HUGE fan of YSL's foundations and powders, I'm one of the few (it seems) who is unable to wear YSL Volume Effet Faux Cils mascara. I'd tried the previous formulation in the past, and was excited for the new, reformulated version in hopes that it might be just the mascara that I'm looking for.. but it wasn't. The color (1 High Density Black) was PERFECT; it was a deep, dark, wet black color that really intensified my blue eyes. The formula does what it says: It gives volume. Lots of volume. Unfortunately for me, however, I had raccoon eyes within two to three hours of applying this mascara. I re-applied the mascara using a lash primer (and the effect was AMAZING!) but again it was smudged on my lower eyelid within a couple of hours. The mascara smudged terribly beneath my eyes, despite the fact that my other makeup was flawless. The new formula doesn't dry to a smudge-free finish and remains slightly wet, even with a single coat. While I am very grateful to have received this YSL Volume Effet Faux Cils Mascara from Influenster and YSL for free in return for my honest opinion, this isn't a mascara that I will be purchasing in the future. At least... not unless YSL develops a smudge-free version.

Good Falsies Effect!

Mar 31, 2015

I received the Yves Saint Laurent MASCARA complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes.
After I used it for a week: I loved how this mascara went on, and was amazed at how my lashes looked. The application is smooth and it does not clump no matter how many layers are used. I used about 3 coats. It delivers everything I was hoping for. Needless to say, I’m a big fan now! See full review, before and after photos on the Big Apple Mama Blog

Good, but not great

Apr 28, 2015

I really love mascaras. I have tried a bunch, but never one so high end or as unique as this one. The brush is awesome, my favorite part. It is bushy enough to really pick up product (but not too much), but somehow manages to coat lashes delicately without an overload of product. It also separates them, and it's not too big like some others I have tried. Formula-wise... eh. I'm not a big fan of the thought of scented mascara. It smells good, I just don't want to put smelly things near my eyes. It's a bit wet for my taste, especially because it gets kind of goopy. Still leads to some pretty lashes, but it takes a while for it to dry entirely. Wear-wise, it kind of can smudge/chip off throughout the day, but it's not that bad. It comes off pretty easily when you want it to though. Overall, I wouldn't say it's my favorite mascara, nor is it worth the money, but it's a fun splurge, I guess. I received the mascara from Influenster for testing purposes, but all opinions are my own.


May 1, 2015

I received this product from influenster, just to try and provide feedback. At first I was extremely excited to try this out as I have heard wonderful things about YSL. The first couple of times I wore the mascara, it was amazing. It did everything it said it would. It was dark and creamy and went on smooth. But after maybe about the 6th time wearing it, it was becoming clumpy and not as smooth as it was the first few times. It was disappointing because it looked so great at first. I also love the smel !

Perfect Mascara <3

Apr 5, 2015

Let me tell you, I LOVE this mascara. It's the perfect one if you really love the false lashes / very intense eye look because this gives me volume, lenghts and pretty intense color to my lashes. For everyday use i just need one coat in upper and lower lashes, but when Im looking an intense look i apply two coats. You will get thiker and longer lashes and that's what I Always look for in a new mascara. The only let down for me is that de Regular black version its not water resistant but i think you can get a waterproof one. I test the Faux Cils Mascara For Free thanks to influenster and YSL beauty but all opinions are my own and completely true.

Best mascara ever

Mar 28, 2015

I started using mascara at 18 yrs old, started with the basic and went up and down, tried different brands, spent more than the usual in my search of a mascara that would give me great lashes, fullness, lightness, and a natural look, some helped but I was allergic to the formula, so when Influenster sent me the YSL's Faux Cils I thought it was gonna be disappointed one more time. I've been using my new mascara for a week now, I'm linking it so far, it's easy to apply, it doesn't dry while applying, so this helps to brush my eyelashes and separate them for a natural look, one more thing that I liked, my lashes keep up all day long. Great formula!

Must have

Mar 24, 2015

Before trying YSL Faux Cils Mascara I thought all mascaras were the same. I was a strictly drugstore mascara woman because I did not believe I needed to splurge for mascara. I’m so glad I have been proven wrong, thanks to this mascara. I started off by curling my eyelashes, after the first coat YSL Faux Cils Mascara lengthened my lashes, my short little lashes were touching my eyelids, and it was incredible! After the second coat the lashes were so voluminous multiple people asked if I had on false eyelashes, like I said…incredible! I love the classic style brush and the formula is smooth, no clumps. After a full day of school and work I found I did not have any smudge around my eyes. I am so thankful Influenster gave me the opportunity to try YSL Faux Cils Mascara, though my opinions are completely my own and I will be purchasing this mascara in brown to add to my collection also!