Overall rating

Reviews

by 1001 people

YSL Faux Cils Mascara

May 5, 2015

I got this product free to try from Influenster to try and review. I have to say that I love this mascara. It really makes my eyelashes look long and thick. It also has a great smell to it.

The Best!

Apr 16, 2015

I live this mascara! No clumps, no flaking. Perfect coverage in 2 coats with beautiful full looking lashes worth a formula that lasts all day and into the night. I'm a mascara snob and have been looking for the holy hail product for some time now, going so far as to using multiple brands/formulas to try to get the perfect blend. With this YSL mascara, now more mixing! One product, perfect coverage, no spider lashes! I'm in love!I received this product from influenster in a YSL voxbox for testing proposes only, but you have now found a new customer. This was my first ever YSL product, and I have to say I'm very impressed. I'll be back for more.

So AMAZED!

Mar 24, 2015

this mascara is absolutely one of the best I've ever tried. I'm so in love with how they make my lashes look longer and thicker. I have two other favorites, too faced BTS Mascara

Best Masacara..

Apr 28, 2015

I've used! Love the length it gives and the scent is amazing!! I was sent this product from influentser and so glad I was able to try it out! I'll definitely be buying again once I run out :) If you haven't tried it you need to!

Lashes for Days

Mar 23, 2015

First off, this mascara is so elegantly packaged, the sleek gold cylinder with the YSL emblem looks great on my makeup counter, which I could not say for my other mascaras. The formula itself (high density black) is smooth, buttery, has ultra dark pigmentation, and does not clump. The best feature of this mascara is the lengthening and curling effect, which for me elevates the formulation of this mascara to Holy Grail status. My eyelashes look twice as long using this mascara and fan out beautifully across my lids. If you have blue eyes I would highly recommend the black because WOW it really makes them pop! The one downside I have is that I think the brush could be smaller to help apply product in the corners of the eyes and near the waterline. I tested Faux Cils Mascara for free, but all opinions are my own.

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS MASCARA

Apr 6, 2015

Hands down this is one of the best formulas out there. Although a little pricey, it is well worth every penny. I received mine from being apart of the influenster group. I absolutely adore the formula and the wand. It isn't too sticky but also isn't runny. I actually sweat alot and i did not look like a raccoon after wearing the mascara from 8 am to 9 pm with an hour at the gym..... It is a little hard to get off but what good mascara isn't ??? I will be purchasing my own today for my kit.

Would be PERFECT if only it didn't smudge...

Mar 23, 2015

I really wanted to love this mascara. I really, really did. Unfortunately, that didn't happen. While I'm a HUGE fan of YSL's foundations and powders, I'm one of the few (it seems) who is unable to wear YSL Volume Effet Faux Cils mascara. I'd tried the previous formulation in the past, and was excited for the new, reformulated version in hopes that it might be just the mascara that I'm looking for.. but it wasn't. The color (1 High Density Black) was PERFECT; it was a deep, dark, wet black color that really intensified my blue eyes. The formula does what it says: It gives volume. Lots of volume. Unfortunately for me, however, I had raccoon eyes within two to three hours of applying this mascara. I re-applied the mascara using a lash primer (and the effect was AMAZING!) but again it was smudged on my lower eyelid within a couple of hours. The mascara smudged terribly beneath my eyes, despite the fact that my other makeup was flawless. The new formula doesn't dry to a smudge-free finish and remains slightly wet, even with a single coat. While I am very grateful to have received this YSL Volume Effet Faux Cils Mascara from Influenster and YSL for free in return for my honest opinion, this isn't a mascara that I will be purchasing in the future. At least... not unless YSL develops a smudge-free version.

LOVE LOVE LOVE!

Mar 23, 2015

I was so excited when I received this mascara complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes. The first thing I noticed when I opened the mascara is that it smells amazing! Which is strange for a mascara, since they always smell quite strange. This mascara smells like perfume! The formula is nice and lightweight, it won't leave your lashes with clumps and it's not sticky. I love that it's buildable. I can do five coats of this mascara and my lashes will still look like lashes and not like spider legs. I love that they kept the applicator shape quite simple, not too thick or thin, just a classic mascara applicator shape. I find that the classic wands do way more for my lashes. Overall I love that they've reformulated this mascara because it feels like my lashes are getting an extra nourishment along with the volume and length that I want. The beautiful two-toned gold/rose gold packaging is a nice plus.

Love at first lash

Mar 24, 2015

YSL‬ Faux Cils Mascara is fantastic!!! It smells good like flowers or something. None of my old mascara smelled this good. I really like that it does look clumpy after it goes on and that it flake on my skin after it dries. The best part is my is my lash look like they long and luxurious just like fake lashes would! Just less work and time. People have asked me were did I get me lashes from, I get smile and tell them there my lashes. They are so shocked!! I also tell about YSL Faux Cils Mascara and they are so happy to learn about it!! After using Faux Cils Mascara I don't think I could ever use another mascara ever. I love the way my lashes feel, look and it also doesn't bother my eye like other brands.

I tested the Faux Cils Mascara for free, but all opinions are your own.

Must have

Mar 24, 2015

Before trying YSL Faux Cils Mascara I thought all mascaras were the same. I was a strictly drugstore mascara woman because I did not believe I needed to splurge for mascara. I’m so glad I have been proven wrong, thanks to this mascara. I started off by curling my eyelashes, after the first coat YSL Faux Cils Mascara lengthened my lashes, my short little lashes were touching my eyelids, and it was incredible! After the second coat the lashes were so voluminous multiple people asked if I had on false eyelashes, like I said…incredible! I love the classic style brush and the formula is smooth, no clumps. After a full day of school and work I found I did not have any smudge around my eyes. I am so thankful Influenster gave me the opportunity to try YSL Faux Cils Mascara, though my opinions are completely my own and I will be purchasing this mascara in brown to add to my collection also!

Best Mascara I've ever used!

Mar 25, 2015

I received this mascara complimentary from Influenster, but that does not affect my review. I have FINALLY found my new holy grail mascara. I've been searching for a mascara that does not transfer, thickens, lengthens and holds a curl. This mascara does it all! I will absolutely be repurchasing this! Thank You!

Volume!

Mar 26, 2015

Let me just describe how amazing this mascara is. I can't! The first time I tried it after I took it our of the box it had way too much product on the mascara wand. For my first use with this mascara, I would say it was very lengthening and voluminous. The downside is that it is not waterproof and also it clumped my eyelashes without separating the individual eyelashes. The next time I tried the mascara I swiveled the mascara wand back and forth taking off the access product, this really helped when I applied it to my eyelashes the second time. My eyelashes did not separate individually, but they did widen and look more fuller than they did before the application of the mascara. I would recommend this product to anyone because the more you use it the better you get at it. The mascara did smudge throughout the day. I would say that this mascara does give you the effect that it looks like you have false lashes on. My lashes looked so long and even fake. I tested this mascara for free, and all of my review/opinions is my own. I received this mascara complimentary from Influenster.com to review for testing purposes. Thank you !

Makes you look made up wearing this only

Mar 27, 2015

I received this mascara free to provide my unbiased review. I am impressed. I have long lashes so even average mascaras make my lashes look longer. This mascara added volume and length giving me that false eyelash fringe. My lashes even cast a shadow on my cheeks and smudge my eyeglasses because they keep smooshing against the lenses (that how long they got). The only thing, which is not the fault of the formula is that unless it is waterproof mascara, I always get smudges under my eyes midday. I have this issue with all non-waterproof mascara which why I only purchase waterproof formulas. When I decide to splurge on mascara I will buy this one but in the waterproof formula.

Best mascara ever

Mar 28, 2015

I started using mascara at 18 yrs old, started with the basic and went up and down, tried different brands, spent more than the usual in my search of a mascara that would give me great lashes, fullness, lightness, and a natural look, some helped but I was allergic to the formula, so when Influenster sent me the YSL's Faux Cils I thought it was gonna be disappointed one more time. I've been using my new mascara for a week now, I'm linking it so far, it's easy to apply, it doesn't dry while applying, so this helps to brush my eyelashes and separate them for a natural look, one more thing that I liked, my lashes keep up all day long. Great formula!

YSL review

Apr 6, 2015

I received this mascara as a free product to test and review from Influenster. (These are my own thoughts and opinions.) I am a huge fan of this product! First, it smells amazing, that totally caught me by surprise. I've never used a scented mascara before and it was a very pleasant surprise. In terms of performance, this mascara held up super well after long wear, and it did not give me panda eyes at the end of the day. It did a nice job separating my lashes and they did not clump. I would highly recommend this to someone else. Thanks Influenster!!!

Good, but not great

Apr 28, 2015

I really love mascaras. I have tried a bunch, but never one so high end or as unique as this one. The brush is awesome, my favorite part. It is bushy enough to really pick up product (but not too much), but somehow manages to coat lashes delicately without an overload of product. It also separates them, and it's not too big like some others I have tried. Formula-wise... eh. I'm not a big fan of the thought of scented mascara. It smells good, I just don't want to put smelly things near my eyes. It's a bit wet for my taste, especially because it gets kind of goopy. Still leads to some pretty lashes, but it takes a while for it to dry entirely. Wear-wise, it kind of can smudge/chip off throughout the day, but it's not that bad. It comes off pretty easily when you want it to though. Overall, I wouldn't say it's my favorite mascara, nor is it worth the money, but it's a fun splurge, I guess. I received the mascara from Influenster for testing purposes, but all opinions are my own.

Amazing!

Apr 25, 2015

I’ve had this product for a couple of weeks now, and I really wanted to test it out as time went on before blogging about so that I could talk about its true quality and just how much you can really get out of this product for its price. And now that I am posting this, I can honestly say that this product is magical! It not only makes my eye lashes appear 10x as long as their natural length, but it makes them so full without clumping. This product is to die for, it’s price is completely worth it and I don’t think I will ever use another brand of mascara ever again! AHH I’m so in love, I definitely recommend this to everyone and anyone!

Soft flexible volume with a little scent

Apr 19, 2015

My eyes: I have no eyelashes and the ones I do are fine and stick straight down like many Asian lashes, but this mascara gives it plenty of volume and curl too!

I have very little mascara know how and was able to apply this pretty well. They suggested that I push upwards and outwards at the same time while doing a zigzag motion from toot to tip. On the bottom lashes, they suggested using the tip to apply mascara on the bottom lashes.

I am happy with this mascara. The thing that I like most about this mascara is that it is leaves my eyelashes flexible. My eyelashes look full and thick but it is not dry or crunchy at all, unlike other mascaras I have tried and have given me a similar look. I would prefer not to have any scent on it. It contains mandarin, black currant, basil, jasmine, and vanilla to provide a full feminine scent. I was walking around thinking, “Who has floral perfume on?” It took me awhile and with no one else around me to realize it had to be me and it had to be the mascara because I don’t do florals for scents on anything. It is a tad annoying but not annoying enough to not wear this luxurious formula. Would I recommend this mascara? Absolutely! A mascara around this long is worth the attention as they must be doing something right to still be existing today. Get it on it and enjoy luxury for your eyes.

Great Volume

May 3, 2015

Absolutely love the wand! Probably the best I've ever used. I have very small eyes and it is usually so easy for me to get mascara all over my face with huge over-sized wands. The formula is really nice for creating long voluminous lashes. I can add one coat for a "natural" look or several coats for big, bold lashes. The perfume smell is a little much but I can get over it because of the great product. I tested the Faux Cils Mascara for free, but all opinions are your own.

Smooth

Apr 1, 2015

This slice looking mascara is definitely an essential for your make-up bag! I LOVE the packaging - makes it feel very high class. The mascara is easy to apply and easy to build up for different effects. One layer for a more natural… a few layers for a false lash effect!
I received this product complimentary from Influenster for reviewing purposes.