Overall rating

Reviews

by 997 people

YSL Faux Cils Mascara

May 5, 2015

I got this product free to try from Influenster to try and review. I have to say that I love this mascara. It really makes my eyelashes look long and thick. It also has a great smell to it.

The Best!

Apr 16, 2015

I live this mascara! No clumps, no flaking. Perfect coverage in 2 coats with beautiful full looking lashes worth a formula that lasts all day and into the night. I'm a mascara snob and have been looking for the holy hail product for some time now, going so far as to using multiple brands/formulas to try to get the perfect blend. With this YSL mascara, now more mixing! One product, perfect coverage, no spider lashes! I'm in love!I received this product from influenster in a YSL voxbox for testing proposes only, but you have now found a new customer. This was my first ever YSL product, and I have to say I'm very impressed. I'll be back for more.

Best Masacara..

Apr 28, 2015

I've used! Love the length it gives and the scent is amazing!! I was sent this product from influentser and so glad I was able to try it out! I'll definitely be buying again once I run out :) If you haven't tried it you need to!

Lashes for Days

Mar 23, 2015

First off, this mascara is so elegantly packaged, the sleek gold cylinder with the YSL emblem looks great on my makeup counter, which I could not say for my other mascaras. The formula itself (high density black) is smooth, buttery, has ultra dark pigmentation, and does not clump. The best feature of this mascara is the lengthening and curling effect, which for me elevates the formulation of this mascara to Holy Grail status. My eyelashes look twice as long using this mascara and fan out beautifully across my lids. If you have blue eyes I would highly recommend the black because WOW it really makes them pop! The one downside I have is that I think the brush could be smaller to help apply product in the corners of the eyes and near the waterline. I tested Faux Cils Mascara for free, but all opinions are my own.

Love at first lash

Mar 24, 2015

YSL‬ Faux Cils Mascara is fantastic!!! It smells good like flowers or something. None of my old mascara smelled this good. I really like that it does look clumpy after it goes on and that it flake on my skin after it dries. The best part is my is my lash look like they long and luxurious just like fake lashes would! Just less work and time. People have asked me were did I get me lashes from, I get smile and tell them there my lashes. They are so shocked!! I also tell about YSL Faux Cils Mascara and they are so happy to learn about it!! After using Faux Cils Mascara I don't think I could ever use another mascara ever. I love the way my lashes feel, look and it also doesn't bother my eye like other brands.

I tested the Faux Cils Mascara for free, but all opinions are your own.

Would be PERFECT if only it didn't smudge...

Mar 23, 2015

I really wanted to love this mascara. I really, really did. Unfortunately, that didn't happen. While I'm a HUGE fan of YSL's foundations and powders, I'm one of the few (it seems) who is unable to wear YSL Volume Effet Faux Cils mascara. I'd tried the previous formulation in the past, and was excited for the new, reformulated version in hopes that it might be just the mascara that I'm looking for.. but it wasn't. The color (1 High Density Black) was PERFECT; it was a deep, dark, wet black color that really intensified my blue eyes. The formula does what it says: It gives volume. Lots of volume. Unfortunately for me, however, I had raccoon eyes within two to three hours of applying this mascara. I re-applied the mascara using a lash primer (and the effect was AMAZING!) but again it was smudged on my lower eyelid within a couple of hours. The mascara smudged terribly beneath my eyes, despite the fact that my other makeup was flawless. The new formula doesn't dry to a smudge-free finish and remains slightly wet, even with a single coat. While I am very grateful to have received this YSL Volume Effet Faux Cils Mascara from Influenster and YSL for free in return for my honest opinion, this isn't a mascara that I will be purchasing in the future. At least... not unless YSL develops a smudge-free version.

So AMAZED!

Mar 24, 2015

this mascara is absolutely one of the best I've ever tried. I'm so in love with how they make my lashes look longer and thicker. I have two other favorites, too faced BTS Mascara

Best Mascara I've ever used!

Mar 25, 2015

I received this mascara complimentary from Influenster, but that does not affect my review. I have FINALLY found my new holy grail mascara. I've been searching for a mascara that does not transfer, thickens, lengthens and holds a curl. This mascara does it all! I will absolutely be repurchasing this! Thank You!

LOVE LOVE LOVE!

Mar 23, 2015

I was so excited when I received this mascara complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes. The first thing I noticed when I opened the mascara is that it smells amazing! Which is strange for a mascara, since they always smell quite strange. This mascara smells like perfume! The formula is nice and lightweight, it won't leave your lashes with clumps and it's not sticky. I love that it's buildable. I can do five coats of this mascara and my lashes will still look like lashes and not like spider legs. I love that they kept the applicator shape quite simple, not too thick or thin, just a classic mascara applicator shape. I find that the classic wands do way more for my lashes. Overall I love that they've reformulated this mascara because it feels like my lashes are getting an extra nourishment along with the volume and length that I want. The beautiful two-toned gold/rose gold packaging is a nice plus.

So Light and Fluffy!

Mar 23, 2015

I received a fullsize YSL Mascara from Influenster for free. Usually, I don't really give such positive reviews for their samples. However, there is always a 1st time for everything!
I LOVE this mascara! I usually use another volumizing mascara that is about $20. While I liked that one, this YSL blows the other one out of the water! Not only does it volumize, it also helps keep a curl, AND it is so light you can layer it on without the crazy heaviness and clumping that is expected of other mascaras.
Also, it doesn't budge! At the end of the day, I was sans raccoon eyes!
I'm in officially in LOVE!

One of the best mascaras I've tried

Mar 24, 2015

I received this mascara for free from influenster for testing purposes. I was a bit skeptical in the beginning but after the first day of wearing it I fell in love with this product. The packaging says that its a volumizing mascara, but I felt like it lengthens also. It lasts the entire day and never gets flaky. Also its not too hard to remove at the end of the day, comes off with no problems. I'll definitely be repurchasing this product!

Must have

Mar 24, 2015

Before trying YSL Faux Cils Mascara I thought all mascaras were the same. I was a strictly drugstore mascara woman because I did not believe I needed to splurge for mascara. I’m so glad I have been proven wrong, thanks to this mascara. I started off by curling my eyelashes, after the first coat YSL Faux Cils Mascara lengthened my lashes, my short little lashes were touching my eyelids, and it was incredible! After the second coat the lashes were so voluminous multiple people asked if I had on false eyelashes, like I said…incredible! I love the classic style brush and the formula is smooth, no clumps. After a full day of school and work I found I did not have any smudge around my eyes. I am so thankful Influenster gave me the opportunity to try YSL Faux Cils Mascara, though my opinions are completely my own and I will be purchasing this mascara in brown to add to my collection also!

Greatness

Mar 27, 2015

YSL, where have you been all of my life? I recently received a complementary mascara from YSL to try and it's fab. I love the design and color. It makes you feel important every time you put it on. As far as the mascara itself, I think the brush does a great job with making your lashes look nice and thick without making them look fake. They are not overly long but I really never liked that look on me to begin with. Can't wait to tag YSL on Instagram. Thanks YSL and Influenster! <3

FYI: I have been given Faux Cils Mascara to test for free, but all opinions are my own

Great Mascara

Mar 27, 2015

This mascara feels very luxurious and I was very lucky to receive this from Influenster to try out! I love the formula of this mascara, and it both lengthens and volumizes my lashes. I love that it does not clump and did not smudge even when I wore it for 10 hours. Overall, a very nice mascara! I did receive this free from influenster to try, but all opinions are my own!

Glamorous

Mar 28, 2015

I really do like this mascara. One of my favorite makeup products to test is new mascara so I was very excited to try this. Usually, I have to use a primer in order to make it look like I have full and thick lashes. I was able to skip that step thanks to YSL's formula. My normal routine is to curl my lashes, apply primer, curl again and then add two coats of mascara. WIth YSL, all I have to do is curl my lashes and apply two-three coats. Instantly I have the illusion of thicker, longer and fuller lashes. I received many compliments from people stating that my eyelashes looked like falsies, giving me the pride of being able to say that they were real. The formula does not clump and it is easy to apply. My issue, which is why I did not give it five stars, is that after a few hours it does start to run. My allergies get pretty bad during Spring and my eyes water constantly. I have to have a mascara that does not run so that I do not get the raccoon look. If they changed this formula to waterproof, I might have a new go-to. Other than that, this is truly a wonderful mascara and I really do love the way it makes my eyes look. I was given the opportunity to try this product for free from Influenster but all opinions are from my own personal experience.

Full lush lashes = YSL mascara

Mar 31, 2015

Yves Saint Laurent Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils hit the nail on the head with this mascara. Right down to the tube this mascara is quality. The tube monogram lines up to let you know it is shut completely then it clicks. The mascara has a light scent that at first I was concerned with since I have allergy eyes and it is spring now so I was worried not only that the scent might bother my eyes but also that if my eyes watered from allergies it might irritate it more. Neither of those things happened this mascara only gave me full lashes not clumpy. It's easy to rinse off with any make up remover also. I was lucky enough to try this free from YSL and influenster.

Worth the money!

Mar 31, 2015

I have a long-standing problem with mascaras. My short, sparse, uncurled lashes need volume, curl, length, and a waterproof formula. I got 3 of the 4 items checked off with this mascara. The volume is insane, curl is decent (but long lasting), and the lengthening effect is awesome. On top of all that, it smells divine! It may sound strange, but I can't wait until I run out of this mascara to get the waterproof formula. That was the only part I didn't like. After seven hours I did have smudges under my eyes. And for once, I had smudges on the top of my lashes due to the length and curl! I know most mascara lovers wouldn't love this, but this was an impressive first for me! I'm so happy I got to try this for free!

AMAZING! literally just as good as faux eyelashes

Apr 4, 2015

I received this mascara as part of the influenster ysl voxbox campaign and, as a (former) user of ysl's conpetitors' products, I was very interested in seeing how this product measured up.

Well, I must say, this product blew the others out of the water! I am so happy that I was introduced to this mascara because I'll never go back. It provided everything you'd want in a mascara: volume, length, non-clump, natural appearance, and fast-drying application. Can't say enough about this product. Do yourself a favor and try it for yourself.

Love!

Apr 4, 2015

I got this mascara to try from Influenster. I never expected to like it as much as I do! It's super easy to apply and the wand is comfortable to hold and manipulate. It really makes my lashes stand out, I got a ton of compliments. My only complaint is it's not waterproof. It lasted a good percentage of the day, which I was impressed with. Influenster provided this mascara for free but all opinions are my own.

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS MASCARA

Apr 6, 2015

Hands down this is one of the best formulas out there. Although a little pricey, it is well worth every penny. I received mine from being apart of the influenster group. I absolutely adore the formula and the wand. It isn't too sticky but also isn't runny. I actually sweat alot and i did not look like a raccoon after wearing the mascara from 8 am to 9 pm with an hour at the gym..... It is a little hard to get off but what good mascara isn't ??? I will be purchasing my own today for my kit.