Overall rating

Reviews

by 1004 people

YSL Faux Cils Mascara

May 5, 2015

I got this product free to try from Influenster to try and review. I have to say that I love this mascara. It really makes my eyelashes look long and thick. It also has a great smell to it.

Why did you ruin perfection?

Jul 3, 2016

Your new so called improved mascara is the worst goes under my eyes clumps up in the heat color not same masc effet faux cils was the best in extreme blue color pleez can i buy old formula

Best mascara!

Mar 22, 2015

I received this mascara to test out from Influenster and omg I absolutely love it. It's the most blackest mascara I've ever tried. It has a little fragrance to me and I like it. It makes my lashes look longer, fuller, none clumsy and it separates them too. I would definitely recommend this mascara to everyone.

LOVE LOVE LOVE!

Mar 23, 2015

I was so excited when I received this mascara complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes. The first thing I noticed when I opened the mascara is that it smells amazing! Which is strange for a mascara, since they always smell quite strange. This mascara smells like perfume! The formula is nice and lightweight, it won't leave your lashes with clumps and it's not sticky. I love that it's buildable. I can do five coats of this mascara and my lashes will still look like lashes and not like spider legs. I love that they kept the applicator shape quite simple, not too thick or thin, just a classic mascara applicator shape. I find that the classic wands do way more for my lashes. Overall I love that they've reformulated this mascara because it feels like my lashes are getting an extra nourishment along with the volume and length that I want. The beautiful two-toned gold/rose gold packaging is a nice plus.

So AMAZED!

Mar 24, 2015

this mascara is absolutely one of the best I've ever tried. I'm so in love with how they make my lashes look longer and thicker. I have two other favorites, too faced BTS Mascara

Best Masacara..

Apr 28, 2015

I've used! Love the length it gives and the scent is amazing!! I was sent this product from influentser and so glad I was able to try it out! I'll definitely be buying again once I run out :) If you haven't tried it you need to!

Makes you look made up wearing this only

Mar 27, 2015

I received this mascara free to provide my unbiased review. I am impressed. I have long lashes so even average mascaras make my lashes look longer. This mascara added volume and length giving me that false eyelash fringe. My lashes even cast a shadow on my cheeks and smudge my eyeglasses because they keep smooshing against the lenses (that how long they got). The only thing, which is not the fault of the formula is that unless it is waterproof mascara, I always get smudges under my eyes midday. I have this issue with all non-waterproof mascara which why I only purchase waterproof formulas. When I decide to splurge on mascara I will buy this one but in the waterproof formula.

The Best!

Apr 16, 2015

I live this mascara! No clumps, no flaking. Perfect coverage in 2 coats with beautiful full looking lashes worth a formula that lasts all day and into the night. I'm a mascara snob and have been looking for the holy hail product for some time now, going so far as to using multiple brands/formulas to try to get the perfect blend. With this YSL mascara, now more mixing! One product, perfect coverage, no spider lashes! I'm in love!I received this product from influenster in a YSL voxbox for testing proposes only, but you have now found a new customer. This was my first ever YSL product, and I have to say I'm very impressed. I'll be back for more.

Good, but not great

Apr 28, 2015

I really love mascaras. I have tried a bunch, but never one so high end or as unique as this one. The brush is awesome, my favorite part. It is bushy enough to really pick up product (but not too much), but somehow manages to coat lashes delicately without an overload of product. It also separates them, and it's not too big like some others I have tried. Formula-wise... eh. I'm not a big fan of the thought of scented mascara. It smells good, I just don't want to put smelly things near my eyes. It's a bit wet for my taste, especially because it gets kind of goopy. Still leads to some pretty lashes, but it takes a while for it to dry entirely. Wear-wise, it kind of can smudge/chip off throughout the day, but it's not that bad. It comes off pretty easily when you want it to though. Overall, I wouldn't say it's my favorite mascara, nor is it worth the money, but it's a fun splurge, I guess. I received the mascara from Influenster for testing purposes, but all opinions are my own.

YSL review

Apr 6, 2015

I received this mascara as a free product to test and review from Influenster. (These are my own thoughts and opinions.) I am a huge fan of this product! First, it smells amazing, that totally caught me by surprise. I've never used a scented mascara before and it was a very pleasant surprise. In terms of performance, this mascara held up super well after long wear, and it did not give me panda eyes at the end of the day. It did a nice job separating my lashes and they did not clump. I would highly recommend this to someone else. Thanks Influenster!!!

Perfect Mascara <3

Apr 5, 2015

Let me tell you, I LOVE this mascara. It's the perfect one if you really love the false lashes / very intense eye look because this gives me volume, lenghts and pretty intense color to my lashes. For everyday use i just need one coat in upper and lower lashes, but when Im looking an intense look i apply two coats. You will get thiker and longer lashes and that's what I Always look for in a new mascara. The only let down for me is that de Regular black version its not water resistant but i think you can get a waterproof one. I test the Faux Cils Mascara For Free thanks to influenster and YSL beauty but all opinions are my own and completely true.

Would be PERFECT if only it didn't smudge...

Mar 23, 2015

I really wanted to love this mascara. I really, really did. Unfortunately, that didn't happen. While I'm a HUGE fan of YSL's foundations and powders, I'm one of the few (it seems) who is unable to wear YSL Volume Effet Faux Cils mascara. I'd tried the previous formulation in the past, and was excited for the new, reformulated version in hopes that it might be just the mascara that I'm looking for.. but it wasn't. The color (1 High Density Black) was PERFECT; it was a deep, dark, wet black color that really intensified my blue eyes. The formula does what it says: It gives volume. Lots of volume. Unfortunately for me, however, I had raccoon eyes within two to three hours of applying this mascara. I re-applied the mascara using a lash primer (and the effect was AMAZING!) but again it was smudged on my lower eyelid within a couple of hours. The mascara smudged terribly beneath my eyes, despite the fact that my other makeup was flawless. The new formula doesn't dry to a smudge-free finish and remains slightly wet, even with a single coat. While I am very grateful to have received this YSL Volume Effet Faux Cils Mascara from Influenster and YSL for free in return for my honest opinion, this isn't a mascara that I will be purchasing in the future. At least... not unless YSL develops a smudge-free version.

Beautiful

Mar 27, 2015

i truly found this mascara amazing. I have decent lashes. This mascara gave me long, dark fluttery lashes. It did not hold a curl though....it kept my lashes soft and not straw like. I would not say I see a false lash effect but I do see a dramatic difference over my natural lashes. My last mascara left me with horrible effects and I do believe this mascara has helped counteract that. I see less lashes falling out. I have always been a believer in drugstore mascara but after finding this one I believe that it is worth the splurge. Not only do I get beautiful lashes but the packaging is luxury in my palm.
I did receive this mascara free from influenster, but all opinions are my own. I will also be purchasing this mascara with my own money in the future.

Must have

Mar 24, 2015

Before trying YSL Faux Cils Mascara I thought all mascaras were the same. I was a strictly drugstore mascara woman because I did not believe I needed to splurge for mascara. I’m so glad I have been proven wrong, thanks to this mascara. I started off by curling my eyelashes, after the first coat YSL Faux Cils Mascara lengthened my lashes, my short little lashes were touching my eyelids, and it was incredible! After the second coat the lashes were so voluminous multiple people asked if I had on false eyelashes, like I said…incredible! I love the classic style brush and the formula is smooth, no clumps. After a full day of school and work I found I did not have any smudge around my eyes. I am so thankful Influenster gave me the opportunity to try YSL Faux Cils Mascara, though my opinions are completely my own and I will be purchasing this mascara in brown to add to my collection also!

Great but a little pricey for quality.

May 6, 2015

I really did like this mascara but it wasn't the BEST I have ever used. Top 5 for sure. But for the price I would expect it to be above all others I have used.

I liked it was easy to take off and I loved the packaging. The packaging was beautiful and very luxury looking. As trival as that is some drugstore packaged mascara is usually pretty dramatic and tacky looking.

After about 4 to 5 hours it did start to smudge on my lower lash line but a lot of mascara does for me because my eyes are just always watery.

Overall: I did like this but I'm not sure if I could purchase it at the current price because mascara should be changed out quite often.

BEST mascara I've tried!

Apr 6, 2015

I have probably tried about 10 different mascaras in the past 2 years and this one is BY FAR the BEST I've used. I received it for free from Influenster to test out

Good color

Jul 29, 2016

Formula appears to be different than before. Drier and clumps easily

Wears Beautifully

Mar 28, 2015

I was sent this mascara to review however all opinions are that of my own. Pros : Curls lashes amazingly without having to actually curl them first. Wears all day and night no wilting or flaking off. Removes promptly with a proper makeup remover solution or wipe. Smells fantastic ! Cons : Is on the pricier side. Can clump my lashes if I am not on the careful side but I have found that using the tip of the applicator to do some detail work by lifting and separating individual lashes fixes this issue.

Only one coat really needed for a luscious yet natural and not over done look. Very impressed with this mascara and would consider re-purchasing it !

dont smear!

Apr 19, 2015

I really liked the packaging the gold makes it look like a million bucks. The wand is on the small side but creates volume for sure. Overall I like this mascara better than my drugstore ones, but it smears a lot!

Really works

Mar 24, 2015

This is probably the best volume adding mascara I've used. It's black as night, doesn't clump, and stays soft all day, I can't stand it when a mascara gets dry and stiff--or worse, flaky. This stays supple all day long. Doesn't take a chisel and a prayer to get off at the end of the day, either! I did receive this product in a Vox Box to review, but all opinions are my own.