Overall rating

Reviews

by 1004 people

YSL Faux Cils Mascara

May 5, 2015

I got this product free to try from Influenster to try and review. I have to say that I love this mascara. It really makes my eyelashes look long and thick. It also has a great smell to it.

So AMAZED!

Mar 24, 2015

this mascara is absolutely one of the best I've ever tried. I'm so in love with how they make my lashes look longer and thicker. I have two other favorites, too faced BTS Mascara

LOVE LOVE LOVE!

Mar 23, 2015

I was so excited when I received this mascara complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes. The first thing I noticed when I opened the mascara is that it smells amazing! Which is strange for a mascara, since they always smell quite strange. This mascara smells like perfume! The formula is nice and lightweight, it won't leave your lashes with clumps and it's not sticky. I love that it's buildable. I can do five coats of this mascara and my lashes will still look like lashes and not like spider legs. I love that they kept the applicator shape quite simple, not too thick or thin, just a classic mascara applicator shape. I find that the classic wands do way more for my lashes. Overall I love that they've reformulated this mascara because it feels like my lashes are getting an extra nourishment along with the volume and length that I want. The beautiful two-toned gold/rose gold packaging is a nice plus.

Best mascara!

Mar 22, 2015

I received this mascara to test out from Influenster and omg I absolutely love it. It's the most blackest mascara I've ever tried. It has a little fragrance to me and I like it. It makes my lashes look longer, fuller, none clumsy and it separates them too. I would definitely recommend this mascara to everyone.

YSL review

Apr 6, 2015

I received this mascara as a free product to test and review from Influenster. (These are my own thoughts and opinions.) I am a huge fan of this product! First, it smells amazing, that totally caught me by surprise. I've never used a scented mascara before and it was a very pleasant surprise. In terms of performance, this mascara held up super well after long wear, and it did not give me panda eyes at the end of the day. It did a nice job separating my lashes and they did not clump. I would highly recommend this to someone else. Thanks Influenster!!!

The Best!

Apr 16, 2015

I live this mascara! No clumps, no flaking. Perfect coverage in 2 coats with beautiful full looking lashes worth a formula that lasts all day and into the night. I'm a mascara snob and have been looking for the holy hail product for some time now, going so far as to using multiple brands/formulas to try to get the perfect blend. With this YSL mascara, now more mixing! One product, perfect coverage, no spider lashes! I'm in love!I received this product from influenster in a YSL voxbox for testing proposes only, but you have now found a new customer. This was my first ever YSL product, and I have to say I'm very impressed. I'll be back for more.

MCKENNAMARLEY

Mar 25, 2015

i received this as a test product from influenster.
I was beyond pleased with the results!
my mascara clump my eyelashes together but this on keeps them evenly apart, and lengthens them.
they don't end up feeling heavy and gross.
it stays on through the tears but is easy to take off at night.
it has made my short lashes actually look long!
I love this product.

Good color

Jul 29, 2016

Formula appears to be different than before. Drier and clumps easily

Good, but not great

Apr 28, 2015

I really love mascaras. I have tried a bunch, but never one so high end or as unique as this one. The brush is awesome, my favorite part. It is bushy enough to really pick up product (but not too much), but somehow manages to coat lashes delicately without an overload of product. It also separates them, and it's not too big like some others I have tried. Formula-wise... eh. I'm not a big fan of the thought of scented mascara. It smells good, I just don't want to put smelly things near my eyes. It's a bit wet for my taste, especially because it gets kind of goopy. Still leads to some pretty lashes, but it takes a while for it to dry entirely. Wear-wise, it kind of can smudge/chip off throughout the day, but it's not that bad. It comes off pretty easily when you want it to though. Overall, I wouldn't say it's my favorite mascara, nor is it worth the money, but it's a fun splurge, I guess. I received the mascara from Influenster for testing purposes, but all opinions are my own.

Would be PERFECT if only it didn't smudge...

Mar 23, 2015

I really wanted to love this mascara. I really, really did. Unfortunately, that didn't happen. While I'm a HUGE fan of YSL's foundations and powders, I'm one of the few (it seems) who is unable to wear YSL Volume Effet Faux Cils mascara. I'd tried the previous formulation in the past, and was excited for the new, reformulated version in hopes that it might be just the mascara that I'm looking for.. but it wasn't. The color (1 High Density Black) was PERFECT; it was a deep, dark, wet black color that really intensified my blue eyes. The formula does what it says: It gives volume. Lots of volume. Unfortunately for me, however, I had raccoon eyes within two to three hours of applying this mascara. I re-applied the mascara using a lash primer (and the effect was AMAZING!) but again it was smudged on my lower eyelid within a couple of hours. The mascara smudged terribly beneath my eyes, despite the fact that my other makeup was flawless. The new formula doesn't dry to a smudge-free finish and remains slightly wet, even with a single coat. While I am very grateful to have received this YSL Volume Effet Faux Cils Mascara from Influenster and YSL for free in return for my honest opinion, this isn't a mascara that I will be purchasing in the future. At least... not unless YSL develops a smudge-free version.

Best Masacara..

Apr 28, 2015

I've used! Love the length it gives and the scent is amazing!! I was sent this product from influentser and so glad I was able to try it out! I'll definitely be buying again once I run out :) If you haven't tried it you need to!

beautiful but transfers

Aug 19, 2012

I love the look that this mascara creates. I bought it once but stopped using it because i ended up with mascara marks all along my brow bone. Obviously this is only an issue if your lashes are long enough to hit your brows. I like my makeup to stay in place so I don't have to be looking in the mirror and fixing ever few hours. I tried to find others that created the same look, but could not. I ended up buying it again. Now I use a waterproof mascara over top to seal.

creamy and rich

Apr 1, 2015

This Mascara is rich, creamy and silky smooth upon application. It glides on easily and very black. It does not leave my lashes cruncy and does not flake. I only need to apply two coats to get a thick full look. I normally use two types of mascaras to get the full look I like. I am currently only using this one on it's own. I was given the opportunity to test the Faux Cils Mascara for free, but all opinions are your own.

LOVE!

Apr 28, 2015

I tested the Faux Cils Mascara for free (all opinions are my own) from Influenster and I have to tell you that I absolutely love this mascara and will buy it again! This mascara makes my lashes look full and long. The mascara is a thick formula, it glides on nice with no clumps and still leaves my lashes soft, not hard as a rock like others can. I wear contacts and have had no problems with it flaking off. I also should say that I have super oily skin and a lot of times because of that I get smudges very easily, but this mascara doesn't do that. Definitely will be a go-to from now on!

Would have been 5 stars if it were at least smudgeproof

Apr 2, 2015

Let's be honest here.. I was very skeptical in trying this mascara. I received this for free to try, but everything I'm about to say is completely my own opinion. My lashes are very long and curly very well, but I'm very fair with blonde hair so they're practically nonexistent without mascara. With just one coat, my lashes were completely covered and clump free. Application is easy and smooth and the color is DEEP and fabulous! I could have gotten by with one coat but I pushed for two and was even more impressed. This makes your lashes look incredibly natural and very long. LOVE that about it. I also have this love/hate relationship with the fact that is removes so easily. PRO would be that it takes no effort to remove at the end of the day. CON would be that I find this product running under my eyes midday. But really, this product feels so natural. Competely fabulous.

On Point Performance!

Mar 24, 2015

This is a fantastic luxury mascara that really performs. First, the packaging is killer gorgeous-- you know this is a luxury product just picking it up. But, it's definitely not all show! I'm a bit picky about mascara, apparently, but YSL gets two thumbs up from me. It gives great volume, awesome lash separation, and even some length to boot. It really is my perfect combo and just what I like in a mascara. I don't think it overtakes my holy grail mascara, because this one is significantly pricier, but it matches it in performance.

I received this mascara free for review purposes, but all opinions are my own. If I didn't actually like it, I just wouldn't complete the review.

great product

May 4, 2015

I received this mascara from influenster for testing purposes. I would say that in my experience i was expecting more volume. But i really like this Mascara, the first thing I loved was the elegant packaging.
I went to the gym with it and the color didn't run, I notice as well that my lashes were thicker and longer

Laimarie Alas

Mar 22, 2015

I received this mascara for free for testing purposes. Although I received this for free, the following opinion is of my own. The very first thing that I loved about this mascara was the packaging. Not only the box it came in was gold, but also the mascara tube itself has two different shades of gold. The cap is a yellow gold and the bottom half has a pink hue with gold, but looks sort of copper. Once I opened the mascara it has a beautiful clean scent to it. It smelled like fresh shampoo! (I know some people do not like scents in their products, but this scent once on your lashes is not noticeable). I enjoyed the scent. I also loved the consistency of the mascara and how smooth it was. It glided effortlessly on my lashes! Not only was it smooth to put on, but the product does not dry as quick, so you are able to build up how much you would want on your lashes without worrying about clumping over! I really like this mascara and my only con is the price, but I would definitely will buy again! :)

Beautiful

Mar 27, 2015

i truly found this mascara amazing. I have decent lashes. This mascara gave me long, dark fluttery lashes. It did not hold a curl though....it kept my lashes soft and not straw like. I would not say I see a false lash effect but I do see a dramatic difference over my natural lashes. My last mascara left me with horrible effects and I do believe this mascara has helped counteract that. I see less lashes falling out. I have always been a believer in drugstore mascara but after finding this one I believe that it is worth the splurge. Not only do I get beautiful lashes but the packaging is luxury in my palm.
I did receive this mascara free from influenster, but all opinions are my own. I will also be purchasing this mascara with my own money in the future.