Overall rating

Reviews

by 998 people

YSL Faux Cils Mascara

May 5, 2015

I got this product free to try from Influenster to try and review. I have to say that I love this mascara. It really makes my eyelashes look long and thick. It also has a great smell to it.

The Best!

Apr 16, 2015

I live this mascara! No clumps, no flaking. Perfect coverage in 2 coats with beautiful full looking lashes worth a formula that lasts all day and into the night. I'm a mascara snob and have been looking for the holy hail product for some time now, going so far as to using multiple brands/formulas to try to get the perfect blend. With this YSL mascara, now more mixing! One product, perfect coverage, no spider lashes! I'm in love!I received this product from influenster in a YSL voxbox for testing proposes only, but you have now found a new customer. This was my first ever YSL product, and I have to say I'm very impressed. I'll be back for more.

Best Masacara..

Apr 28, 2015

I've used! Love the length it gives and the scent is amazing!! I was sent this product from influentser and so glad I was able to try it out! I'll definitely be buying again once I run out :) If you haven't tried it you need to!

So AMAZED!

Mar 24, 2015

this mascara is absolutely one of the best I've ever tried. I'm so in love with how they make my lashes look longer and thicker. I have two other favorites, too faced BTS Mascara

LOVE LOVE LOVE!

Mar 23, 2015

I was so excited when I received this mascara complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes. The first thing I noticed when I opened the mascara is that it smells amazing! Which is strange for a mascara, since they always smell quite strange. This mascara smells like perfume! The formula is nice and lightweight, it won't leave your lashes with clumps and it's not sticky. I love that it's buildable. I can do five coats of this mascara and my lashes will still look like lashes and not like spider legs. I love that they kept the applicator shape quite simple, not too thick or thin, just a classic mascara applicator shape. I find that the classic wands do way more for my lashes. Overall I love that they've reformulated this mascara because it feels like my lashes are getting an extra nourishment along with the volume and length that I want. The beautiful two-toned gold/rose gold packaging is a nice plus.

Love at first lash

Mar 24, 2015

YSL‬ Faux Cils Mascara is fantastic!!! It smells good like flowers or something. None of my old mascara smelled this good. I really like that it does look clumpy after it goes on and that it flake on my skin after it dries. The best part is my is my lash look like they long and luxurious just like fake lashes would! Just less work and time. People have asked me were did I get me lashes from, I get smile and tell them there my lashes. They are so shocked!! I also tell about YSL Faux Cils Mascara and they are so happy to learn about it!! After using Faux Cils Mascara I don't think I could ever use another mascara ever. I love the way my lashes feel, look and it also doesn't bother my eye like other brands.

I tested the Faux Cils Mascara for free, but all opinions are your own.

Makes you look made up wearing this only

Mar 27, 2015

I received this mascara free to provide my unbiased review. I am impressed. I have long lashes so even average mascaras make my lashes look longer. This mascara added volume and length giving me that false eyelash fringe. My lashes even cast a shadow on my cheeks and smudge my eyeglasses because they keep smooshing against the lenses (that how long they got). The only thing, which is not the fault of the formula is that unless it is waterproof mascara, I always get smudges under my eyes midday. I have this issue with all non-waterproof mascara which why I only purchase waterproof formulas. When I decide to splurge on mascara I will buy this one but in the waterproof formula.

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS MASCARA

Apr 6, 2015

Hands down this is one of the best formulas out there. Although a little pricey, it is well worth every penny. I received mine from being apart of the influenster group. I absolutely adore the formula and the wand. It isn't too sticky but also isn't runny. I actually sweat alot and i did not look like a raccoon after wearing the mascara from 8 am to 9 pm with an hour at the gym..... It is a little hard to get off but what good mascara isn't ??? I will be purchasing my own today for my kit.

Lashes for Days

Mar 23, 2015

First off, this mascara is so elegantly packaged, the sleek gold cylinder with the YSL emblem looks great on my makeup counter, which I could not say for my other mascaras. The formula itself (high density black) is smooth, buttery, has ultra dark pigmentation, and does not clump. The best feature of this mascara is the lengthening and curling effect, which for me elevates the formulation of this mascara to Holy Grail status. My eyelashes look twice as long using this mascara and fan out beautifully across my lids. If you have blue eyes I would highly recommend the black because WOW it really makes them pop! The one downside I have is that I think the brush could be smaller to help apply product in the corners of the eyes and near the waterline. I tested Faux Cils Mascara for free, but all opinions are my own.

Would be PERFECT if only it didn't smudge...

Mar 23, 2015

I really wanted to love this mascara. I really, really did. Unfortunately, that didn't happen. While I'm a HUGE fan of YSL's foundations and powders, I'm one of the few (it seems) who is unable to wear YSL Volume Effet Faux Cils mascara. I'd tried the previous formulation in the past, and was excited for the new, reformulated version in hopes that it might be just the mascara that I'm looking for.. but it wasn't. The color (1 High Density Black) was PERFECT; it was a deep, dark, wet black color that really intensified my blue eyes. The formula does what it says: It gives volume. Lots of volume. Unfortunately for me, however, I had raccoon eyes within two to three hours of applying this mascara. I re-applied the mascara using a lash primer (and the effect was AMAZING!) but again it was smudged on my lower eyelid within a couple of hours. The mascara smudged terribly beneath my eyes, despite the fact that my other makeup was flawless. The new formula doesn't dry to a smudge-free finish and remains slightly wet, even with a single coat. While I am very grateful to have received this YSL Volume Effet Faux Cils Mascara from Influenster and YSL for free in return for my honest opinion, this isn't a mascara that I will be purchasing in the future. At least... not unless YSL develops a smudge-free version.

This mascara is amazing

Mar 27, 2015

So I have short eyelashes that are super straight. I applied one coat and noticed a big difference but after using 3 coats I had longer eyelashes and they had so much more volume. The black color is rich. The smell was a little off putting not used to my mascara smelling like flowers but you gets used to it. I tried Faux Cils Mascara from Influenster for free, but all opinions are your own.

Glamour in a golden tube!!

May 4, 2015

I received my mascara courtesy of Influenster at no cost, but my opinions are entirely my own. Everything about this mascara is perfect. The two-toned tube is beautiful. It smells wonderful and healthy, you can almost feel your eyelashes drinking up the nutrients. My middle aged lashes seemed to lengthen and looked young and fresh The formula was creamy and coated each eyelash individually without clumping. It lengthened and gave great volume, with no spider-web look. . The mascara stayed where I wanted it to be all day, ON my eyelashes!!! When it was time to remove it at the end of the day, I didn't have any problems with pulling any of my eyelashes out while removing the makeup. I look forward to trying other YSL products!!

Good Stuff

Apr 14, 2015

I would never buy a mascara that costs more than $10, but after this was sent to me, I might be more likely to buy a mascara at a higher price. Although it's not the best mascara ever, it does have some very positive qualities. This mascara does not flake or fade away through the day - it sticks! I have a job where I need to wear makeup for about 12 hours a day, and I am also under HD lighting. The only issue with the lasting power of the product is the curl - I use a lash curler (Shiseido) and the mascara doesn't hold the curl at all. It gives a bit of length, but nothing that a good drug store mascara won't do. I love the packaging! The packaging and container is beautiful and makes me want to use it every day. The formula is a bit wet and transfers up to my eye lid, but I just brush it off. Good mascara, but a drug store mascara could do the same job.

A new favorite!

Apr 8, 2015

I love mascara but I have yet to try any from YSL. I was sent the YSL Volume Effet Faux Cils mascara from Influenster and I was so excited to finally try it. As someone who is obsessed with mascara and has tried different brands, I absolutely love this one. It goes on so smoothly and it smells good. I can layer it on and I don't get clumping. I also love that I don't get raccoon eyes at the end of the day. This is definitely one of my favorites and I would buy another tube as soon as I finish with this one! Plus can we talk about how cute the gold packaging is? Love!

Worth the money!

Mar 31, 2015

I have a long-standing problem with mascaras. My short, sparse, uncurled lashes need volume, curl, length, and a waterproof formula. I got 3 of the 4 items checked off with this mascara. The volume is insane, curl is decent (but long lasting), and the lengthening effect is awesome. On top of all that, it smells divine! It may sound strange, but I can't wait until I run out of this mascara to get the waterproof formula. That was the only part I didn't like. After seven hours I did have smudges under my eyes. And for once, I had smudges on the top of my lashes due to the length and curl! I know most mascara lovers wouldn't love this, but this was an impressive first for me! I'm so happy I got to try this for free!

On Point Performance!

Mar 24, 2015

This is a fantastic luxury mascara that really performs. First, the packaging is killer gorgeous-- you know this is a luxury product just picking it up. But, it's definitely not all show! I'm a bit picky about mascara, apparently, but YSL gets two thumbs up from me. It gives great volume, awesome lash separation, and even some length to boot. It really is my perfect combo and just what I like in a mascara. I don't think it overtakes my holy grail mascara, because this one is significantly pricier, but it matches it in performance.

I received this mascara free for review purposes, but all opinions are my own. If I didn't actually like it, I just wouldn't complete the review.

First Try With This Mascara

Mar 20, 2015

This was my very first time trying #YSLmascara and it was an exciting experience. I used this product to help enhance my own eyelashes because I'm not a big fan of false eyelashes, it's too much of a hassle for me. When I first put this mascara on it definitely made it look as though I had false eyelashes! Yay!! I learned a tip that you should wipe off your mascara brush once you've used it to prevent clumping of the lashes. Glad I found out about that trick because the second time I used this mascara it clumped a little. The only thing I don't care for about this product is the perfume scent to the mascara but it wouldn't stop me from using it in the future. I'd definitely recommend using this mascara. Also, I received this as a complimentary product from Influenster (via VoxBox) and all opinions are my own.

My Favorite!

Apr 2, 2015

I tried this Mascara by getting it free through Influenster(All opinions are mine). I've never heard of this brand until then and I am so happy they introduced me to this product and brand. It is by far the best mascara I have tried to date. I haven't put on another mascara since I received this one. It only took a little to make my lashes look long, dark and made my eyes pop. Thank you Influenster and YSL for opening my eyes to this wonderful product!

Love it!

Apr 23, 2015

i absolutely love this mascara! I am always searching for a mascara that will lengthen, curl, and thicken. Often times I wear fake lashes because I can never find a mascara that really gets the job done. With this product, after just one coat my lashes are much more noticeable. 2 coats will get me the dramatic look I love. I've had this product for several weeks now and it does not appear to be drying out as you often see with other designer mascaras. I think I've found my go to! I received this product complimentary for testing but this review is my own.

I am in love with this formula. The brush? Not so much.

Mar 25, 2015

This formula makes my eyelashes SUPER long, and thick. They come out gorgeous and it's pretty much smudge-proof so long as you don't cry, or get it wet. It also smells fantastic! The only thing I have a problem with is the brush. I think it's too close together, and the formula would work so much better with a different type of brush. Maybe one of the more spikey ones? At first I wound up with huge black smudges around my eyes just because I was trying to get used to it. You have to get the hang of it. But that's really my ONLY complaint.

It does lengthen, and volumize so I look like I have falsies on. And the color I have is #1, it's the blackest mascara I own! I love it so much.

I received this free to try from YSL and Influenster, in exchange for my opinion.